Kindling fuel

Benaulim BeachBlue CornerYesterday I actually spent a fair time on the beach in Benaulim. It was the first real chance I have had since I arrived and as I am fairly pasty I felt it was time for some sunshine bathing. I am not a major “lie in the direct sunlight and tan until it goes pink” person – I use umbrellas most of the time and sit in the shade. The exception to this is when I am drying off from a swim in the sea, and then as soon as I am dry I am back in the shade.

On this occasion, having first looked to find the Hard Rock shack  (which was last year the 5th shack on the left as you enter the beach from the main  carpark) I discovered that it has been replaced with another shack. Presumably they didn’t get a licence this year OR they didn’t do well enough last year to warrant opening again this year.

So, as I wasn’t wanting to risk a new shack I went to Blue Corner (in the other direction off the main drag) – www.blue-corner-goa.com/index.html. This place has great food and is on a peaceful part of the beach. Oh, and the cheesecake is to die for – although I didn’t indulge this time! Went there at 0915 for breakfast and stayed there reading my Kindle until around 2.15pm – it wasn’t too busy and there were a good supply of sunbeds too.

Kindles eh? What a blessing I am finding mine to be. I love the fact that I don’t have to carry a book with me and also I can choose to change what I am reading  at any point with the Kindle. If I get bored of one thing then I can read something else! Obviously the reading material has to be downloaded first, so I do that in areas of Wi-fi as I have the Kindle Touch, and then stock my little library for later reading.

The Kindle is SO handy for the traveller and for a person who loves to read and has a varied & eclectic choice of reading. My one wonder now though is whether I should have bought the original version instead of the “Touch”. This one is too sensitive sometimes and I end up flicking chapters instead of pages and then having to work out where I was! It is true that, at the bottom of every page, it shows you where you are in the scheme of the book as well as how much % of that book you have read. However, that doesn’t account for changing the font size and anyway, I don’t refer to the page I am on as I am reading the book – I usually only check that when I am bookmarking. Does anyway, check this as they go along?

So be warned if you are in the market for a Kindle because it is a further factor to consider. Whereas the original Kindle has a page-turning button this one has a sensitive screen. Mind you, I can’t advise you on any other than these two and with the Kindle Fire now out it all depends on what you want it for. Personally, I got it for travelling and to have the facility of a library in my pocket! Mind you, I still love the feel of a real book, although with my Kindle, I have it in a handy holder which can convert to a stand so that I can read a book hands-free in landscape or portrait mode, while I am eating breakfast. All this without having to worry about losing my place – well as long as I don’t touch the screen and jump to the end of course! I just need to learn to not be so heavy-handed I suppose – hahahaha

About travell1ngthroughl1fe

I am a fun-loving person who goes with the flow and travels through life most of the time though sometimes I have to be responsible when others try to get me on their track! Most of the time though people tell me I am barking mad! hahahaha! Life is short but oh so sweet so I believe in looking out for the bright side of life and I can always find a positive in everything! Half-empty glasses are not for me. Negativity is an ill I want to cure in everyone. Only after you heal your own soul can you help to really heal the world. So when you need help, ask for it and where it is offered, gratefully accept it as a gift.
This entry was posted in Goa, Health, India, Life, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

I really would appreciate comments so please do say something even if you read it and think it's a load of tosh!

