Learning the Tarot


I was actually around 19 or 20 years old when I first got into Tarot although at that time it was just fortune telling with a regular pack of cards and a book I bought that had been compiled and written by Maurice Woodruff.

This book covered all manner of readings, Numerology, I-Ching, Tarot, Palmistry, etc. I had a go at the palmistry section too but found that a little confusing as I am left-handed – so was never sure which of my hands to read! LOL

When I tried the card-reading I discovered that I was rather good at this –  by default almost!

For fun one day I decided to try this out on the staff at work who thought it was pretty daft and poo-poo-ed it all. Then however, one of my temps (I was Temps Controller for the Alfred Marks Bureau in Hammersmith at the time) Lesley, said she would have a go.

However, after I read Lesley’s cards she told me that it really wasn’t going to happen so made no sense to her. But then, 2 days later she came running into the office to tell me that all I had said had already happened and she had received a call out of the blue in the late hours of the night from someone she would never in a million years expect to contact her. I also forecast a visit to the dentist – AND she also had to suddenly go to the dentist 2 weeks later so WOW! And she asked me for another reading and would have continued to have them if I had kept it up then but I was career-focused st that age and didn’t see my path clearly then.

I was pretty amazed by this achievement however  – that I had been able to tell someone this without even really knowing them well or even taking it seriously myself! It truly made me think there has got to be something out there.

My mum, being Irish always had a gift for psychic stuff and I thought maybe I had inherited this from her. However, many years and many experiences and life events later I now realise that we ALL have this talent and awareness although in many it is buried so deep that it is totally latent and will never surface. Thus there is a real need for those of us who are able to “connect” to help others to do so.

So over the years I have taken all things holistic on board – mediumship, reiki, homeopathic and ayurvedic medicines, the Tarot and now I am more focused and in the “now”. Travelling around and working in various places has really helped and also by spending so much time in this wonderful sub-continent I have embraced so many aspects of life,  love and health that approach things in a very different way from that of the West.

Now I have been trying to work on the Tarot and learn the 78 cards, Major and Minor Arcana for some time. However, since Christmas I really have made more of a concentrated effort as I am determined to grasp the significance of each card to the extent that I NO LONGER NEED to refer to the book. I have already read many people’s cards while referring to the book and have been told I am accurate so I need now to drop the book by learning the cards meanings.

Practice makes perfect they say and it is so true because I am getting there and by doing a daily reading for myself I am seeing the pattern in the cards I pull as well and where they relate to my current circumstances. The fact that one of the cards has been drawn twice in 14 days has fascinated me, particularly as it TOTALLY relates to my current situation! What ARE the odds on pulling the same card twice from a deck of 78 cards within a 14 day period – any mathematicians out there to please tell me? – The logical & scientific part of my brain is ever present even though the emotional and ethereal spirit side draws me on.

So having spent a fair amount of time with the cards and exploring them and the feelings evoked by them, I got to thinking on another related subject – but let’s leave that for another post.

In the meantime folks, if you are reading this and are in my vicinity of the world, do let me know as I would love to offer you a short card-reading as part of my on-going learning process.

celtic crossYou never know what fortune may bring you after all!

Love and Reiki blessings to you all until my next post. xxx

About travell1ngthroughl1fe

I am a fun-loving person who goes with the flow and travels through life most of the time though sometimes I have to be responsible when others try to get me on their track! Most of the time though people tell me I am barking mad! hahahaha! Life is short but oh so sweet so I believe in looking out for the bright side of life and I can always find a positive in everything! Half-empty glasses are not for me. Negativity is an ill I want to cure in everyone. Only after you heal your own soul can you help to really heal the world. So when you need help, ask for it and where it is offered, gratefully accept it as a gift.
This entry was posted in 2013, Goa, India, Life, Mother Nature's Magic, Philosophy, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really would appreciate comments so please do say something even if you read it and think it's a load of tosh!

