The Music of Life

So I heard on the news yesterday, they have decided that music is worth studying as it may be helpful in treating patients for all types of healing ADHD,  OCD, Alzheimers etc!

No kidding! Is that rocket science or common-sense? I despair of the world more and more as I get older. Is it moving backwards or am I just living in the fourth dimension?

I mean – Music can heal you? Who would have ever thought it!  Yes that is said tongue in cheek because as far as I am concerned the practice is as old as the hills. Bird-song, the wind sighing, the sea lapping or crashing – aren’t these all the most wonderful forms of natural music that can and DO heal every day WHEN we listen to nature?

Obviously though somebody has decided that they might get a grant for this study so………….they have convinced some grant-giving body to fund them.

Maybe I should have applied for a grant years ago when I raved about music and laughter therapy. Well, I obviously missed the boat on the funding side, but heh, it probably has something to do with the fact that money has never been high on my list of priorities – I need it to live but I don’t need as much as I can grab!

However, I know there are many people out there who don’t just want to live but are so jealous of how others live that they spend their time working out ways to cheat and work systems that are out there for the benefit of those who need it.

Sad really though! I was taught to work hard and reap the rewards and feel pride in my achievements. As a result I couldn’t feel proud if I worked or cheated a system. However, I have a different mindset to those sad jealous types so I will never understand them and I am sure they are happy with their lot. Or at least they will be until they get caught or the money runs out and they have no other way to earn a living!

Anyway, enough spouting – let’s get back to the Music theme –  Apparently they are now testing the theory of music being healthy for you by using Gamelan music from Bali to see how the tones and the rhythms affect us.

Personally, having lived for a time in Bali, I find Gamelan music an acquired taste and rather restrictive. It can be rather monotonous at times as it can seem quite discordant and very intricate gong-banging! It certainly is NOT rock and roll, country, R & B, or anything else we are familiar with as general worldwide music.

Perhaps, that is how they got a grant. After all if we were to try and get a grant to study rock and roll  they might think the money would be spent on enjoying ourselves, with sex, drugs, etc! But each to his own. As162px-Ian_Dury_1 Ian Dury told many blockheads several years ago:

Sex and drugs and rock and roll
Is all my brain and body need
Sex and drugs and rock and roll
Are very good indeed

Who would have believed that a person who had suffered with Polio would find that music healed his soul – 220px-Steve_Harley_&_Cockney_Rebel_-_TopPop_1974_5Steve Harley might also have something to say on the subject if he were reading this now:

If I knew how to say it I’d say it for you 
If I knew how to whisper I’d whisper for you
If I knew how to waltz I’d get up and dance for you
If I thought I could run I’d come running to you 

After all, aren’t the” Best Years of our Lives” totally about the music we hear and how our hearts sing it?

About travell1ngthroughl1fe

I am a fun-loving person who goes with the flow and travels through life most of the time though sometimes I have to be responsible when others try to get me on their track! Most of the time though people tell me I am barking mad! hahahaha! Life is short but oh so sweet so I believe in looking out for the bright side of life and I can always find a positive in everything! Half-empty glasses are not for me. Negativity is an ill I want to cure in everyone. Only after you heal your own soul can you help to really heal the world. So when you need help, ask for it and where it is offered, gratefully accept it as a gift.
This entry was posted in 2013, Health, Holistic, India, Life, Loopy Lines, Lyrical, Mother Nature's Magic, New Age, Philosophy, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really would appreciate comments so please do say something even if you read it and think it's a load of tosh!

