Strapped or what…………….?

Loads of strapping lads I was told……………………!

So let me tell you about the strap line first – had you noticed it? – in the same way that some people listen but don’t hear, others look but don’t see so………… if you didn’t notice it – no worries!

Anyway, “Try something new every day” is the strapline for my blog and it is there because I DO try to adhere to it. And it requires very little effort to do this actually.

Now you may think that trying something new is a very challenging thing to attempt and I am possibly advocating that everyone starts to challenge themselves every day with a bungy jump or a tightrope walk or some extreme sport.

NO -please let me make that clear – NO that is not what this is all about!

Although I AM directing this idea at everyone, I am not suggesting that we all change our way of lives drastically. Some may want to and others may not but in fact many of us are already trying something different every day, whether you are conscious of it or not.

Regardless of your routine (or lack of it) most people (even those with OCD) try something new every day.  It could be a thing as simple as buying a new brand of tea or coffee that you never had before, or taking cream instead of milk with it.  Making the effort to change the way you tie your laces or style your hair, visiting a new store,  bar or even a street in your home town that you never walked along.  What new thing have you done today?

Now, the next thing you may ask is, why?

In my case it is because I love learning and I am a sucker for any sort of a challenge. Providing I am physically capable I will try anything once.  In fact, I strongly advocate for the fact that if you don’t try, you can’t criticize.

I do believe that new things, add spice to your life, bring variety, fun and a challenge because they let us use our brain cells to really think! Life can never become monotonous when your brain is active and really only becomes rather mundane when you allow the brain to switch off.

Some people however, are never aware of the new things they do each day unless they make a conscious effort. Think about all the things you did this week and note how many things were done by you for the FIRST time ever – you may well surprise yourself.

For example today, for the first time, I had a drink in a bar I had never been to before on the beach in Varca. Having walked down from Benaulim along the beach I discovered I had just passed the Zuri, stopped and ordered a lime soda Mind you I shan’t go there again coz they charged me 50% more than I usually pay – Lesson learned though!

I also wrote this new blogpost, as well as a rap poem I posted  about my day.  So for these achievements (and I do class them as such!) there were no real major efforts on my part BUT it was something new that I hadn’t before tried and it keeps me to my strap line of trying something new every day.

So that’s enough about the strap line – now I’m off to discover the strapping lads!

Bye for now. xxx

About travell1ngthroughl1fe

I am a fun-loving person who goes with the flow and travels through life most of the time though sometimes I have to be responsible when others try to get me on their track! Most of the time though people tell me I am barking mad! hahahaha! Life is short but oh so sweet so I believe in looking out for the bright side of life and I can always find a positive in everything! Half-empty glasses are not for me. Negativity is an ill I want to cure in everyone. Only after you heal your own soul can you help to really heal the world. So when you need help, ask for it and where it is offered, gratefully accept it as a gift.
This entry was posted in Goa, Health, Holistic, How to, India, Life, Mother Nature's Magic, New Age, Philosophy, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really would appreciate comments so please do say something even if you read it and think it's a load of tosh!

