Listen to your body every day and trust it!

I recently had 2 days off work sick.

This is unusual for me because generally I find that working while suffering minor ailments does not have an adverse effect. However this time my side and back were causing me aggravation so that sitting was uncomfortable and my body was advising me I needed some different action.

Considering that I was going to be sitting for 8 hours at work I felt this was not the best way to go about listening to my body so I decided not to – sit for 8 hours that is!

Self-diagnosing according to what my body was telling me and past experience of how it warns me, I felt there were two possible causes for this discomfort.

1. It could be my eating pattern (which had become erratic and filled with too many carbs several days in a row) added to spending too much time sitting without any form of exercise for my body – even the stretching exercises had stopped for a week now.
2. The alternative was that it could have been a pulled muscle or tendon in my back caused by a twist the previous week.

The warning my body gave was a pain in the side/back area below the rib-cage. This pain had become noticeable on the Monday and after I had gone home I had crashed out asleep on my bean bags. Now with me sleepiness is my bodies way of warning me to back off and change something.

On Tuesday at work the aggravation had become stronger and I left early to get a massage with my wonderful Thai woman Limul. However, she was too busy to do a massage so I went home, lay down, slept, woke up and then had an early night.

Next morning I decided that I needed to change something so I should stay prone as long as possible. Therefore, I took a day off, lay on my back, drank water, herbal tea and no caffeine, did Reiki on myself and slept a lot. It did ease things considerably, but not enought to return to normal yet.

So I concluded that if it were my back that had the problem, sitting would only aggravate it. If it were my digestive system it would also be better to not compact my body or huddle it in a sitting position.

This was why I decided a second day prone may be needed, but this time I would have a massage in the morning (which was wonderful as always) and if that didn’t result in any noticeable improvement after a few hours of lying down again then I was going to the Ayurvedic doctor in the afternoon.

A few hours after the massage and a further lie down where I dozed somewhat, I awoke feeling rather revived, better, restless and ready to work again the next day.

The next day I was feeling well and so at work I decided to make sure that although I was sitting a lot, I got up and walked around a fair amount when I felt any discomfort. Added to this some sensible eating and drinking LOTS of water also to keep up the detox and cleanse my system.

By observing and listening to my body and it’s reactions to all things occurring, I have discovered that the problem has been a “blockage” in the digestive tract, as the pain has gradually shifted lower. Not yet fully recovered but with a few more days of water intake I nevertheless feel back to “normal” two days later.

Having spent time now moving around, eating more sensibly (protein in meat/veg as well as the crazy carbs!) I am feeling good and heading off later for a day of Vitamin D3 on the beach – with plenty of walking in the waves thrown in I can tell you.

However, compacting the body is not good and I am still doing too much sitting, which is the reason my body is now nagging me to stop writing this post, get off my a**e and move around. So I am off to sweep and wash the floors.

Some “body” recently asked me why I didn’t have a cleaner – in fact if I did have one I would do even less and then MY body would be screaming at me

Household chores, eh? Trust me, they are a very good way to keep fit and active – sod employing a cleaner and having my body go into spasms or something worse.

Have a great listening day!

About travell1ngthroughl1fe

I am a fun-loving person who goes with the flow and travels through life most of the time though sometimes I have to be responsible when others try to get me on their track! Most of the time though people tell me I am barking mad! hahahaha! Life is short but oh so sweet so I believe in looking out for the bright side of life and I can always find a positive in everything! Half-empty glasses are not for me. Negativity is an ill I want to cure in everyone. Only after you heal your own soul can you help to really heal the world. So when you need help, ask for it and where it is offered, gratefully accept it as a gift.
This entry was posted in Goa, Health, Holistic, How to, India, Life, Mother Nature's Magic, New Age, Philosophy, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really would appreciate comments so please do say something even if you read it and think it's a load of tosh!

