Tom Yum Soup and Grand Palaces

Wow is the Grand Place something or what?? All that brightly coloured sparkling mosaic everywhere -= very impressive I must say.

Me at the PalaceSetting off early to get there for the 0830 opening, I actually arrived at 8am as it was a very short walk to there through the grounds of the University.

Already there were crowds of people (mainly Asians) queuing to get in – group tours with their guides it seems so I grabbed a coffee from a handy 7/11 store.

Now I say handy,  and that is exactly what the Seven Eleven is here in Siam – most streets have 3 or 4 of them and apparently there are almost 7000 stores in Thailand and half of them are in Bangkok! In fact I have passed 6++ (lost count eventually) just in the area I stayed in Bangkok.

Grabbing a coffee and a toastie for breakfast I was then considering NOT visiting the Palace as the hordes of people grew like a swarm of bees, but then they swarmed in at around 0815 so the Queen must have led them in and I also joined in and had paid for a ticket very quickly as a solo visitor, coz all the others were buying in bulk!

Anyway I then proceeded to take hundreds of pictures of all this amazing mosaic Palace and I am sure at some time I will find time to upload a few after I have filtered through the better ones. You just got one of me to tempt you sao far!

This picture of me was actually taken by a lone ranger woman who I think was Russian – she probably thought I was too as she addressed me in Russian asking me to take her picture  – so I got her to reciprocate – not the best background but it proves I was there!!!

The entry fee was 500 Baht and after I had wandered the grounds and had a butchers in the Museum of the Emerald Buddha (who is actually made of jade and sits in the temple at the Palace looking down on everyone) I then wandered back to the hotel to relax for a while before checkout at 12noon. I had thought to possibly spend the afternoon on a boat trip but decided against that in favour of a relax by the small pool and a rejuvenation for the 12 hour bus journey tonight.

Wandered out and had a yummy Tom Yam at the street stall behind the hotel later and basically relaxed the day away. I have also developed an “AC sore throat” now so am glad I am moving on and will stock up on water for the journey tonight as well as hit the pharmacy (no homeopath to be seen nearby) for some throat lozenges although currently I am dosing myself with Hot honey and lemon to ease it a little.

About travell1ngthroughl1fe

I am a fun-loving person who goes with the flow and travels through life most of the time though sometimes I have to be responsible when others try to get me on their track! Most of the time though people tell me I am barking mad! hahahaha! Life is short but oh so sweet so I believe in looking out for the bright side of life and I can always find a positive in everything! Half-empty glasses are not for me. Negativity is an ill I want to cure in everyone. Only after you heal your own soul can you help to really heal the world. So when you need help, ask for it and where it is offered, gratefully accept it as a gift.
This entry was posted in 2013, Comments, Health, How to, Life, Thailand, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really would appreciate comments so please do say something even if you read it and think it's a load of tosh!

