NOLA or N’awlins as the locals say!

I have many of the various Jpegs I have taken around the world on my desktop rolling as a slideshow and today I spotted one of the ones I took in New Orleans in 2011. Howling
So that got me remembering how much I loved New Orleans and the weird and wacky way of looking at things the people there have – a lot like me really!

The Bare Bones of the Place 

So then I decided to cast my eye through the many hundreds of JPegs that I took on my 180 “Hippytrip” across two continents and selected some of the ones from New Orleans that really made me smile!

So here are the Bare Bones of the place!

NB:see http://sushiptrip.travellerspoint.com/ for more about the places I visited in 180 days across two continents. That blog shows only a snippet of what I can tell you – so if you want information on any of the places I went then DO subscribe to THIS blog, drop me an email and I will happily write more on an area to offer you more inside information if you want any!

Anyway back to N’Awlins and the fantastic feelings you get in this wonderful place of people who know how to enjoy life, even when down and out – they still have the music in their hearts and souls I can tell you!

 

I thought I would share some of the pictures and people with you – maybe it will give you an inclination to visit – it is certainly somewhere I would love to go back to again and it is a place I could see myself living (anyone out there to offer me the green card please???). Apart from the people,  the climate suits me and most important of all – the MUSIC is there!

Michael would have loved this one I am sure! Michael would have loved this one I am sure!

 

Music everywhere

There truly IS music everywhere – This was the bathroom in a great live music bar (there are HUNDREDS) and in case you really feel the urge to play along, you can always have a Tinkle while you Tinkle!

 

Beaded treesAlso wherever you go the trees wear beads and these beads can be found everywhere – the India House hostel I stayed in ( A place I recommend if you are hippy chick) had beads on the bedposts, the mirrors, the mantels and all over – great stuff!

This place must have been useful in the floods - it is in the middle of town and nowhere near the river or sea - just a house that is lived in - there is a storm brewing above as you can see - love it!

 

A lighthouse in the middle of town – must have been useful in the floods is all I can say. This is actually a residential house – how wonderful to always be around eh? There is a storm brewing here as you can see and I caught the downpour shortly after this.

This is where Obama had his Pogies when he visited. It is a great place and Louis (a couch surfer friend who couldn't offer me a couch but showed me around) introduced me to this The Parkway bakery is famous for its Poboys (french bread and  rolls  stuffed full of wonderful food) This is where Obama had his Poboys when he visited. It is a great place and Louis (a couch surfer friend who couldn’t offer me a couch but showed me around) introduced me to this YUMMY place!

 

complete sound systemMore Music again – this time a complete system in a bike – note the spare shoes so he never has to stop playing for long! My biker friends need to take note of this one please – how to keep a girl REALLY happy!Bugs

 Even the bugs are fun for some people!

more music Music is fun for all!

NOthing to lose

 

 

Some have nothing to lose!

 

 

 

Good work

 

But good work don’t come cheap.

 

 latest fashionAnd peoples ideas of fashion vary so there is something for everyone here!

ODD fellows

There is not only no resting place for the wicked it would seem – Note the sign outside this ODD fellows resting place (cemeteries abound in NOLA) – there is no stopping at any time! Voodoo blues

 

 

But the magic of the music is everywhere!

Go visit when you get the chance – If I go again I may never come back!

About travell1ngthroughl1fe

I am a fun-loving person who goes with the flow and travels through life most of the time though sometimes I have to be responsible when others try to get me on their track! Most of the time though people tell me I am barking mad! hahahaha! Life is short but oh so sweet so I believe in looking out for the bright side of life and I can always find a positive in everything! Half-empty glasses are not for me. Negativity is an ill I want to cure in everyone. Only after you heal your own soul can you help to really heal the world. So when you need help, ask for it and where it is offered, gratefully accept it as a gift.
This entry was posted in Comments, Health, Holistic, How to, India, Life, Mother Nature's Magic, N'Awlins, New Age, New Orleans, NOLA, Philosophy, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really would appreciate comments so please do say something even if you read it and think it's a load of tosh!

