Buckets of Thrills with Life in India

So for the last few days dear Mother Nature has been throwing buckets of water at me every time I have ventured from the house and I was rather restricted by only having a silly thin mac. In fact I missed my karaoke night on Tuesday because I got ready to go and donned my flimsy mac to be hit as I stepped off the porch with torrents – so I knocked it on the head for the evening.

However, now I felt it urgent to attend to this covering up and keeping dry where possible, so yesterday I went to Big G (the department store) in town and purchased a rather effective, if not attractive, long raincoat – I feel I look like something like Clint Eastwood in High Plains Drifter now, except that I am a banana yellow colour and not dusty brown. At least I stand out in a crowd!

Fortunately I already had a pair of rubbery/plastic flip-flops and am now in search of a couple more pairs to match various outfits – for when I am on the bike of course hahahaha! Unfortunately, the leather flip flops and other ones I have cannot work with the depth of some of the puddles I am wading through and would only last a few days.

Today the few attractive plastic pairs I found were not in the colours that coordinate with my clothes and those that were there in my size were really not suited to my fashion (or my bunion)!

When I asked a friend who has been monsoon-bound before where is a good spot to purchase the plastic ones – she told me she quite often doesn’t bother and just removes her shoes! A little worrying that though, as I often have seen what lies on the ground BEFORE the puddles cover it, so am not too keen to go wadding around.

So, anyway, getting back to the banana raincoat – I bought it yesterday and promptly stuck it in my bike seat to go back to the office as it was NOT raining and the office is only 2 minutes’ drive. Of course, the inevitable happened – flash flood and I was drowned in those 2 minutes – hahaha.

Jessica at the office told me it is probably best to wear a raincoat when you are out especially as these rains suddenly happen and you may not have time to stop the bike, don the clothing, etc.

Taking her advice I travelled home last night on my bike fully wrapped up – and the sun broke through the clouds – Sod’s Law I suppose. Mind you, later after I reached home the heavens opened again so I went nowhere last night either.

Now today I got on the bike and left work with it raining somewhat all covered up and ready for anything. Within 2 minutes of starting out the heavens threw me a few more buckets, this time all over my glasses so I was not only getting drowned but also going blind! A rather tricky situation. Now, I often joke about needing windscreen wipers for my glasses but if I had them it would have been useless so I just drove on (slowly and carefully) until I reached home as a drowned banana!

Unfortunately the gap at the front of the raincoat had meant the front lower half of my dress was soaked and in fact some of the wet stuff had actually seeped through this raincoat – it reminded me of sailing a stormy sea off the Isle of Wight in “waterproofs” – nothing is ever THAT waterproof after all.

My handbag is fairly waterproof being a cheap knock-off of a knock-off but I did check to see if anything was wet. Found it all damp and the purse rather soggy but other than that all OK. However, my phone seems to have been shocked by the ferocity of the power of Mother Nature.

At first I had thought the battery had died but when I realised the little apple sign was not winking at me for a good reason I decided it must be time to try something else so I tried to do a restore. However, the rain outside is keeping me in the house and the signal needed for a restore cannot be strong enough as it is telling me “downloading 12mb of 962mb – 15 hours!

So I am leaving that to be attended to tomorrow now and if I can’t fix it then I will be back to the old pink non-technology handset!

However, at least it set me into a reboot mode myself because I hadn’t posted a blog for a while and now I have had something to blog about! 

Many magical monsoon months ahead no doubt – so watch this space for fun and games in the life of a traveller through the thrills of life.

About travell1ngthroughl1fe

I am a fun-loving person who goes with the flow and travels through life most of the time though sometimes I have to be responsible when others try to get me on their track! Most of the time though people tell me I am barking mad! hahahaha! Life is short but oh so sweet so I believe in looking out for the bright side of life and I can always find a positive in everything! Half-empty glasses are not for me. Negativity is an ill I want to cure in everyone. Only after you heal your own soul can you help to really heal the world. So when you need help, ask for it and where it is offered, gratefully accept it as a gift.
Aside | This entry was posted in 2013, Comments, Goa, Health, Holistic, How to, India, Life, Mother Nature's Magic, New Age, Philosophy, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really would appreciate comments so please do say something even if you read it and think it's a load of tosh!

