A Number of Applications Later

Having spent two weeks in Thailand rediscovering my IPhone with a micro-sim card and installing a few new Apps – when I returned to India I decided I would take the chance and get a cut SIM from Idea so that I could continue to use it – I do so love having a computer in my pocket.

That was great – all Apps worked and everything ran smoothly so that I was back to being technology girl again when I got caught in the monsoon mayhem (see previous blog)

Now, I am IPhone-less – the thing has packed up and I CAN’T have it fixed here as I didn’t buy it in India. I applied to the local Indian Apple franchise IMAGINE (which happens fortunately to be located in the very building where I work). They told me they could test it for me to see what the problem was but they can’t fix it for me as I didn’t buy it here – IMAGINE That!!! Could it possibly be only typical Indian mentality or is this a truly Apple ruling?

Anyway, the hunt was then on to see the best move to make. As the store had diagnosed it as a hardware problem, (having taken it for testing for an hour), I applied to Apple to see what to do and they advised I get someone (me or another person) to take it into their store for a replacement.  The warranty does not expire until 20th June 2013 so what next?

Applied to DHL for a quote and time estimate to get it sent to UK – Rs.3500/- (40 squid) and 4 working days (working in India or UK? – both, no doubt!)

Then I applied to my sister to see if she has an Apple store near her and would be kind enough to take it for me.  Her nearest is a bit of a hike away but she is a sweetie and told me she is happy to do this. It’s not that she has nothing else to do – in fact she is usually manically busy with the family, all the kids and school runs, house, and so on– but she is my dear lovely sweet sister after all so is happy to help.

Anyway, I’m going to DHL on Monday to send this to her in Tunbridge Wells and then she will process from there.

Not sure it will be so simple with the registration though so will ring Apple again nearer the time as she has to traipse over to a store for me with none local to her in Tunbridge Wells sadly. I don’t want her to have a wasted journey and need to revisit so will check with them (Apple) once it lands in UK and she has it in her little mitts.

Anyway, next I had to apply to Idea to get the full sized SIM card for my original phone. Then because part of it was missing I had to go to the police station and apply for an FIR (Claim of loss form) then go back to IDEA with it and get the new card in. Then two hours later heh presto, back to my old basic phone.

However, I am going to apply myself to what could be a worthwhile investment considering all the APPs I am missing now.  I will spend some of my hard-earned to get another smart phone here if I can get something relatively cheap because having APPS is great – especially the “Viber” and the” What’s App” apps –  which makes chatting every day free and so simple!

I can’t afford to get another IPhone – they want the equivalent of what is for me 3 months’ rent in Colva. Anyway, if my sister is successful in getting me the replacement I can pick that one up from her when I am home next (September end).

So until further developments I am back to fuchsia pink good old NOKIA without any APPS.

Have a hAPPy Sunday anyway whatever you do.

About travell1ngthroughl1fe

I am a fun-loving person who goes with the flow and travels through life most of the time though sometimes I have to be responsible when others try to get me on their track! Most of the time though people tell me I am barking mad! hahahaha! Life is short but oh so sweet so I believe in looking out for the bright side of life and I can always find a positive in everything! Half-empty glasses are not for me. Negativity is an ill I want to cure in everyone. Only after you heal your own soul can you help to really heal the world. So when you need help, ask for it and where it is offered, gratefully accept it as a gift.
This entry was posted in 2013, Comments, Goa, How to, India, Life, Philosophy, Thailand, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really would appreciate comments so please do say something even if you read it and think it's a load of tosh!

