Monterio or bust!

My first trip up to Calangute/Baga area of Goa for some time and the first experience of Me at Monteriothe monsoon at Monterio resort.

Have loved this place since my very first visit in January/Feb 2000 as it has a warm and welcoming atmosphere. First time I was here I stayed in the uppermost studio (nicknamed Pakistan as it is at the top of the resort and at the top of the stairs on the left) – rather a hike and keeps you fit but I loved it.

This time my friend Chrissy and stayed near the bottom pool and had a lovely one-bed apartment for 2 nights.

Normally I would drive up on the scooter but in this weather I felt it better not to do so. Thus we got the bus from Colva ( I left my scooter at her place) and then in Margao we got another bus to Panaji and then another bus to Calangute where we took a rickshaw to the resort (5 minute hike). Total cost of the bus rides was Rs. 65/- each and the rickshaw was Rs. 75/- each!!! Not bad and beats London Transport or Southern Vectis prices hands down!

We left Colva on bus at 1.15pm and got to Calangute at 3.15 as we had no waiting time between buses which was great. Normally to drive takes me just over an hour and this was much easier and relaxed ( and cheap!)

Having checked in I decided to book the special at the Spa – a Shirodara massage combined with a reflexology session for only Rs2000/- but was then advised that the guy who does the Shirodara is not in from tomorrow for a week as he is on holiday!! hahahahaha – offering a special when there is no-one to perform it seems rather a blunder. Anyway, I settled instead for the Balinese Massage the following night instead so…………….at least its a pamper though NOT the one I wanted really!

After a lovely meal in Poco Loco restaurant on the resort we headed off to Cavala to take in the sounds of rock, roll and R & B and dance the night away. well some of it – as Chrissy has a knee problem and I have a groin problem this week (what a couple of old crocks we are, eh??)

Cavala is a wonderful little family run hotel with a great bar that I was introduced to by a friend of mine some years ago and is usually a good night out so we headed off there hoping for the best and were NOT disappointed. The band were good and planned all known classics and the lead singer was a girl I knew from seeing her at Goa Chitra in the season and has a wonderful voice. Her mother is also a great singer of mainly jazz.

We did a fair amount of bopping with the locals and the place filled up fast and all were getting in the swing. In fact, we stayed until around 12 midnight when  we started to flag somewhat so walked back to Monterio and bed.

Chrissy now keen to come up here on a Saturday night regularly to have her dance fix every now and again. However, I think next weekend we will have to try Baywatch again as they seem to have good stuff going on there and it is nearer to home.

Monte Carlo it is not but we might have to bust our budget again to get up for another weekend sometime before the main season starts again.Calangute beach

About travell1ngthroughl1fe

I am a fun-loving person who goes with the flow and travels through life most of the time though sometimes I have to be responsible when others try to get me on their track! Most of the time though people tell me I am barking mad! hahahaha! Life is short but oh so sweet so I believe in looking out for the bright side of life and I can always find a positive in everything! Half-empty glasses are not for me. Negativity is an ill I want to cure in everyone. Only after you heal your own soul can you help to really heal the world. So when you need help, ask for it and where it is offered, gratefully accept it as a gift.
This entry was posted in 2013, Comments, Goa, Health, Holistic, How to, India, Life, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really would appreciate comments so please do say something even if you read it and think it's a load of tosh!

