Flying the flags of India and Italy

So Independence Day has come like any other – I have seen no flag-flying or flag-wearing people. The only difference I have heard is that my friends kids had to go to school (on a National Holiday) and be there at 8am for the singing on the National anthem and other national songs (in Hindi of course) while the flay in Delhi was raised at the Red Fort there – although they were not watching it on any screen – so we have to assume it went up then!

Apart from that all the shops and my favourite local  Café (where I am writing this as it has FREE Wi-Fi) were all open still and people were driving around the streets per usual.

I say FREE wi-fi not lightly as in Goa it is not a standard thing to even  have Wi-Fi though most men will have a wife – that IS standard! In the Margao office I can get Wi-Fi but at home I am still working with a Dongle and getting a poor signal. Although on occasion my neighbours Wi-Fi seems to come available to me I cannot bank on it.  So 95% of the time I am out of the house to access the internet. This is a nuisance as often I have my thoughts and ideas re checking things out at night and when I am in the house so I can only create non-internet stuff then – so that is a pain.

Anyway, I had the day off and although it was not good enough to go for a swim or a walk on the beach it was a showery day only so I decided to go out on the scooter for an explore with my laptop in tow.

I roamed around on my scooter and then discovered a superb treasure in “Da Tita” a real Italian restaurant in Majorda. To see how good they were I decided to try their Spinach & Blue Cheese pizza –  a favourite of mine. I prayed that it would be half decent and by golly it did NOT disappoint!)

Why had I never found this place before? I had never gone along this particular road before actually and even if I had it is not obviously an Italian restaurant or particularly prominent. In fact I had that morning been told about it by my friend and her daughter who had been there a few days previously. for that reason I had travelled this road.

This place even does take out AND delivery, it only serves Italian and has two menus – I for the Pizzas ( loads of  delicious sounding ones!) Oh yes, I am going back there again soon because I so enjoyed my meal, the service ( they gave me tomato paste dippers as a comp to start) and the ambience. So I am now recommending it to those of you who like authentic (thin Crust) Italian pizza. This is all cooked in a proper Pizza Oven and if you are a pizza lover it will be a wonderful experience – forget those doughy Domino’s pizzas = here is the real McCoy!

Check out “Da Tita” in Majorda on the main road near to Oscars supermarket – They are open from 11am each day apparently right through until the evening.

Funny to find this on Independence Day in India – the flags are ALMOST the same colours  too – -if you substitute orange for red ( a darker shade of orange after all!)

 

 

 

About travell1ngthroughl1fe

I am a fun-loving person who goes with the flow and travels through life most of the time though sometimes I have to be responsible when others try to get me on their track! Most of the time though people tell me I am barking mad! hahahaha! Life is short but oh so sweet so I believe in looking out for the bright side of life and I can always find a positive in everything! Half-empty glasses are not for me. Negativity is an ill I want to cure in everyone. Only after you heal your own soul can you help to really heal the world. So when you need help, ask for it and where it is offered, gratefully accept it as a gift.
Aside | This entry was posted in 2013, Comments, Goa, Health, Holistic, India, Life, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really would appreciate comments so please do say something even if you read it and think it's a load of tosh!

