Views and scenes

I am reading (on my Kindle) at the moment a book called “Butterflies are Free to Fly: A New and Radical Approach to Spiritual Evolution” by an author called Stephen Davis.

It sets out some really interesting ideas (all based on Quantum Physics apparently) Of course I will have to check into this more before I judge the book as I never believe EVERYTHING I hear or read until I have explored further.

However, it got me thinking how people percieve different things you do or say according to THEIR thinking and not your own. I recalled a night last tourist season in Goa when a seasonal acquaintance of mine had remarked on the fact that I was wearing a ring on a particular finger. She had observed that she had never seen me wearing a ring on that finger before!

I thought it odd in the  moment. But when I was removing my jewellery later that evening, I realised it was on my  “wedding ring finger” ( if there is such a thing really!) It was actually the 3rd finger on my left hand next to the “pinky” finger – Thus it is the “wedding finger” for some nationalities and she was one who would know it as such.

When I did think about this I realised that she was possibly trying to make a point about why I didn’t usually wear a ring on that finger but I didn’t get it at the time because I only wear rings on fingers where they fit and I don’t think of which finger is which – I try to get as many different sizes as possible so I can “ring” the changes with the fingers as well.

As she was a happily married woman perhaps she felt that I was missing out on the joys of marriage and was not happy to be single.

Another similar comment made that same season by yet another seasonal friend also made me wonder. I spotted a good looking man in the bar and remarked to her – “He’s a nice looking guy”. She said – something along the lines of “Well get over there and say Hi then” but when I remarked “No thanks,  as he is a smoker and I don’t do smokers”  the reaction I got was:  “Oh, you can’t be too fussy you know!”

This brought my retort – “Why not? I can be as fussy as I like!”

I was not looking for a one-night stand, a holiday romance or relationship of any kind. I was simply remarking on a good looking man. And my comment re smoking could have been explored,  but wasn’t,  as her reaction was based on her own way of looking at life I suppose.

So this again showed me that other people view you in different ways according to the scenes they are viewing and also to their own preconceived views.  You are mostly seen from their point of view, not your own,  so is there any point pretending to be anything other than you are? I think not!

Even when you think you appear as you are, others will form their opinions based on their points of view.  Mostly they do so  with their own perspective as well as within their own comfort zones.

No-one can actually know you properly. Neither can you know another,

Thus I believe that you should never judge as there is no correct way of thinking.

How you are seen by some is  not necessarily the way you view the scene you are in. Viewpoints vary and all these ideas and ways of seeing things are purely a part of the University wherein we all study (or are ourselves studies) –  Life.

So whatever comes my way or whatever is said I prefer not to make a scene about it as it cannot change others views. Only experience can do that.

About travell1ngthroughl1fe

I am a fun-loving person who goes with the flow and travels through life most of the time though sometimes I have to be responsible when others try to get me on their track! Most of the time though people tell me I am barking mad! hahahaha! Life is short but oh so sweet so I believe in looking out for the bright side of life and I can always find a positive in everything! Half-empty glasses are not for me. Negativity is an ill I want to cure in everyone. Only after you heal your own soul can you help to really heal the world. So when you need help, ask for it and where it is offered, gratefully accept it as a gift.
This entry was posted in 2013, Books, Comments, Goa, Health, How to, India, Life, Philosophy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really would appreciate comments so please do say something even if you read it and think it's a load of tosh!

