Bridging the Gap & Filling In

Well, August for me was one of filling in gaps and juggling days of work and discussing when I would return to UK and what length of visa to get, etc. In addition to that I had the dentist!

Having finally settled on dates and terms for the visa I must say I am in two minds as to why a six month visa makes more sense than a 12 or 24 month one, especially afer having 12 month visas previously. However, it was not my decision so I go with it and duly fill in the relevant forms and letters.

I was also in two minds about the dentist – but after much trepidation in the early stages, I am better pleased now with the results and will be returning to this lovely lady dentist for more work after I get back to Goa in October.

I had not tried this particular dentist before but was fed up with the last one I had as felt he really was an army dentist only ( where he trained and worked before). So for more than a filling or a clean I felt a change was due. My European friend Claudia (back in the Nederlands now after years of living in India) had recommended this dental practice and it is a very nice husband and wife dental surgery with all mod cons.

Obviously the usual basic waiting room does nothing for the confidence – a grubby looking building and walk up – but it was filled with Indians waiting to be seen so I trusted this was a good sign. NO Europeans spotted but then again it is out of season for them!

So in June I took the plunge and went to discuss what I needed done.  As I had recently had a tooth pulled (November last) I wanted to get a bridge made as now that my mouth is one of holes  – chewing can be a problem, if not impossible in some cases.

However, within a few seconds of me mentioning what I was thinking about she started to tell me what I needed to get done (3 bridges) and it was a bit nerve-wracking as I was thinking “is she only saying this for the money?”

She suggested 3 bridges for the gaps I have at a price of Rs.11,500 per bridge for the middle range of bridge and I decided that I would really need to go and think this one through and told her so. She immediately suggested just one bridge to start and discussed this idea with me. As I told her I would get back to her in the meantime she cleaned my teeth for me.

After that I was sold. You see I had stained the front teeth with this stupid dental mouthwash that stains teeth but does a great job for gums and mouth. Dentist recommend it  (Corsodyl) and after I had used it for the duration after the tooth was pulled last year I thought the teeth were permanently stained.  However, within 10 minutes this new dentist had restored them to their former yellowish glory. So, as I say, I was sold!

Having decided to try her out with one bridge to start with, we settled for the gap that had most recently been created.

However, I got alarmed again when she mentioned there may be a need for a root canal treatment!!! I had heard these ominous words spouted by many as being horrible work to have done. HI was not sure what it really meant and once she explained it all to me it didn’t sound so bad. In fact, if it meant removing a sensitive nerve it sounded a great idea actually!

She did tell me she would need to do the root canal before fitting the bridge IF we needed to do it,  as otherwise the work would mean drilling though a bridge, As it turns out I needed a root canal so the work spread out over 2 weeks.  She topped all this off last Saturday when I had a little “earthquake” filling done on a sensitive tooth where the gum was receding.

My mouth fuller and my purse empty to the tune of Rs.17,000for all the work done I can now understand why medical tourism is really taking off over here.

After all, if by getting your health problems sorted in the East you can help bridge the financial gap between private and NHS services in the West then it ends up as a win-win situation for all concerned and we don’t see that much anymore so lets celebrate that.

About travell1ngthroughl1fe

I am a fun-loving person who goes with the flow and travels through life most of the time though sometimes I have to be responsible when others try to get me on their track! Most of the time though people tell me I am barking mad! hahahaha! Life is short but oh so sweet so I believe in looking out for the bright side of life and I can always find a positive in everything! Half-empty glasses are not for me. Negativity is an ill I want to cure in everyone. Only after you heal your own soul can you help to really heal the world. So when you need help, ask for it and where it is offered, gratefully accept it as a gift.
This entry was posted in 2013, Comments, Goa, Health, Holistic, How to, India, Life, Philosophy, Travel, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

I really would appreciate comments so please do say something even if you read it and think it's a load of tosh!

