Rumination without digestion

So I just spent the 3rd of 3 consecutive days off this week and boy have I felt relaxed……..so much so that I actually have achieved very little in my search for what to do next in my life.

I love the weather here and driving on my bike today I realised I DO have to be in the heat to be happy and feel relaxed.

However, I am also feeling a little  “out on a limb” lately as regards seeing friends and family enough this year.

The trouble with living here (apart from the distance to travel to get to UK) is that most people are either transients in the winter season or Indian locals – and either they are not here all the time and/or not many of them are on my wavelength. So this lends itself to an aloneness of life.

Most of the time this is perfectly acceptable to me – I even like being alone a large majority of the time. However, lately I have felt that it would be SO nice to share a few more events thoughts and outings with like-minded friends and so I have started to consider alternatives to staying in India.

This also has possibly been brought on by my length of time unbroken here without returning to see family. I’m not certain, but it is a factor to consider.

Of course, I did have my break in Thailand and spent a week of that with old and new friends so that was good. However, now the idea I had of moving there has abated somewhat as even they have moved away and back to Europe.

So  my thoughts are now on Europe but I am loathe to make a major move as I know myself, from past experience, that the grass often looks greener…….. but often find it as barren as elsewhere.

I know what I ideally look for ( I think) but whether it exists in more than rare doses I am not sure.  When I first came out to India I got it and was on the right track  –  a variety of locations as well as a challenging role.  After a short period in India I was transferred to Bali and loved it there for a time. Unfortunately the earnings didn’t live up to expectation though and although things are cheaper they are all relative so……… In addition, the workload was as great for less money and at the end of the day I was superfluous in terms of company spending so………bye bye.

Having continued on the India theme since then for a few since then (2008) I was good enough and lucky enough to be able to spend 6 months in India producing various results for different departmens and the rest of the time back in the UK.  Trying to earn money there though, especially during the summer, is no mean feat as there is less temp work about and after my last experience where I took on a contract and promptly lost money through non-payment and a sharky employer, I am loathe to repeat that experience.

So maybe Germany ( with this Company that is an option) or Southern Spain, Malta, Cyprus, Canaries –or Greece if I wanted to be somewhere on a permanent basis.  However, how permanent IS permanent really but at least in Europe I can visit friends and family more often (even weekends then become an opportunity!)

Alternatives to this would be South Africa, Australia & the Caribbean – I loved working in the Caribbean and would love to check out SA.  Australia has been my desired destination since 21 and when I visited  it the 3 times I have, it has never disappointed me though now I have few friends there and it is even further than Europe!

Of course, if I could go back to my old ways of 6 months at a time and then maybe broach the idea of the States for a few summer months with a Canarias spell perhaps during the winter that would be great especially if I want to remain in Europe for a longer period of course. But what to do?  – I need an income after all.

My Indian experience is not yet over but my current work role in this environment is really drawing to a close. I have always advocated – have laptop and telephone will work and travel but in the last 12 months this has decidedly not happened and I have actually started to act again as an employee as opposed to a consultant which is how I have previously viewed life and and been predominantly accepted for the last 20 years.

So onwards and upwards, sideways or whatever, but lets not go backwards. My life is still my own and I have no-one else to answer to……….maybe thereby hangs a problem as I try to decide where to go, what to do and how to continue without a companion in tow. Companions can often pu thins into context and offer a different outlook or slant on matters.

That is not where I am at though. and I really COULD do with some advice from time to time – and that is where I dearly miss my friends and family – to chew over the cud and dissect the facts to maybe move me somehow!

The universe will I realise provide the answer when needs be so I will just remain open to everything that is thrown my way – there are after all no coincidences – everything for a reason. (Recommended reading on this subject is The Celestine Prophecy – when you are ready for it – it will present itself to you).

Anyhow, back to my musings and ruminations  – so goodbye for now – all ideas and comments will most certainly be greatly appreciated and digested well.

About travell1ngthroughl1fe

I am a fun-loving person who goes with the flow and travels through life most of the time though sometimes I have to be responsible when others try to get me on their track! Most of the time though people tell me I am barking mad! hahahaha! Life is short but oh so sweet so I believe in looking out for the bright side of life and I can always find a positive in everything! Half-empty glasses are not for me. Negativity is an ill I want to cure in everyone. Only after you heal your own soul can you help to really heal the world. So when you need help, ask for it and where it is offered, gratefully accept it as a gift.
Aside | This entry was posted in 2013, Comments, Goa, Health, How to, India, Life, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really would appreciate comments so please do say something even if you read it and think it's a load of tosh!

