Carbs could be the killing the mood.

So I have been feeling low lately and I was trying to establish where the lethargy of mind had seeped into me and when this has started.

My usual verve to zip out and about on my day off was somewhat lacking this last weekend (AND I had 3 days off!) so I was analysing what I was doing differently that was making me feel this way.

I hadn’t been going to the gym as a result of feeling too tired to do so and having this “can’t be bothered” attitude is not something I like to carry with me so I decided to test my powers of anaylsis and start with a few experiements to see if I could go back to being “upbeat” me.

So, first I cut down on the milk- I had started to have it in coffee and tea at work again. Although I had evicted it from my diet some time ago (I never buy milk now unless others are visiting) it had crept back in through teabreaks in the office. As of last week I said only black tea or coffee now please. At the same time changed from having 2 coffees with cream when I get up to herbal tea. I still get the cream in my decaff coffee when I come home although the decaff is running low ( and SO expensive here – more so than in the West where it is not cheap either of course!)

Then after Monday, when I pigged out on pizza from Da Tita I decided that the carbs needed a grand reduction so I went back to my old regime of high protein, less carbs. Thus no more patties in the morning or at lunch break. No more buying of bread from the delivery man, egg or cheese for breakfast and certainly no more bread, pasta or rice for some time.

I had become bloated on it all again after eating junk for about 6 weeks so THAT was also not helping my state of mind as clothes are tighter again!!!!

Now it is only be 4 days after this experiment started and the first three days I started the day with a lethargy and later a headache with slight feelings of depression brought on by………………what, I wasn’t sure.

However, this morning I woke early again (0545) and was full of beans and raring to get up and go. Yeah! Whereas I had been lying in bed late for a while now (7am or later on days off  – OK so you think that is not late but I can tell you that IS late for me as I always wake with the sun normallly!)

My old routine of washing clothes and sticking them out on the line kicked back in, I also took the prerequesite once-per-week Alendronic Acid and while I was waiting to be able to drink or eat (you have to wait 30 minutes before having anything but water in case of destroying your oesophagus [did I spell that right?]  – an explanation of that some other time maybe!)

Back to the point anyway – I am now sitting writing this having realised that I was correct in my previous conclusions. This is an idea I have passed on to a few friends – some of whom have actually noted what I suggest and have found me correct when they have analysed it with their bodies.

My conclusions? –

  1. Too many carbs will cause depression, lethargy and a general malaise.
  2. Carbs are totally addictive –  so that when we are depressed we stuff more of them to try and cheer ourselves up. Junk food (when high carb), chocolate (when excessively consumed) etc.  All we are doing is actually aggravating the situation in our bodies.

Obviously we are all different so others may feel this does not apply to them but it certainly is the case with my body.

So I urge you to try this if you feel depressed, low or generally “under the weather”- oh and that is another part of my make-up – weather affects me worse when my carb intake is high!

When I eat too many carbs I become not only bloated but am subject to a lowering of mood and thus I think carbs may supress the production of endorphins in the body.

I will do a little research on this later when I have the time to see if any studies have been done on this already. If you know of any please direct me to them.

For sure, I know that I am feeling ten times better, with more energy and a lighter heart than I had 4 days ago – and all for cutting out the milk, dough and high carb products and getting back to high protein.

Now I am trusting that this will last but will keep you posted on longer term results if you are at all interested.

About travell1ngthroughl1fe

I am a fun-loving person who goes with the flow and travels through life most of the time though sometimes I have to be responsible when others try to get me on their track! Most of the time though people tell me I am barking mad! hahahaha! Life is short but oh so sweet so I believe in looking out for the bright side of life and I can always find a positive in everything! Half-empty glasses are not for me. Negativity is an ill I want to cure in everyone. Only after you heal your own soul can you help to really heal the world. So when you need help, ask for it and where it is offered, gratefully accept it as a gift.
This entry was posted in 2013, Comments, Goa, Health, Holistic, How to, India, Life, Philosophy, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Carbs could be the killing the mood.

  1. Rose Lane says:

    Talk to Sam & Warren about carbs, i’m sure they will know a thing or two.
    Glad you feeling better and i thought something was wrong by your last blog !

I really would appreciate comments so please do say something even if you read it and think it's a load of tosh!

