Horny traffic news!

In my recent post re trafficking in India, I omitted the staple of all driving in India and that is probably because I have become immune to it.

Please HORN Yes! – a sign seen throughout India on the back of many public use or company vehicles – and no they are not love-boats or wedding cars!

So what is this horniness taking place and how does it affect our driving?

After discussing with a number of people (one of them my driver at the time) I am none the wiser as the horn is something the Indians really just like to get a lot of!

Apparently it can refer to them inviting you to toot your horn if you are overtaking. Often seen on vans, when they have no wing mirrors it can make sense.

However, as “horning” or tooting as I have named it, is done for a number of reasons this can become confusing.

People here toot it seems to say “watch out”, “hello my friend”, “I am going to  pass you” (this most usually already started when they do it!).

Alternatively, it can ALSO mean – “you can pass me now!” – a very dangerous thing to confuse you though. In fact best to take any notice of this one as sometimes they do this when they are rounding a corner and often they don’t notice the on-coming traffic!

It seems to also sometimes mean “I am turning NOW!” or – on a regular basis for folk on bikes it says “Breadman cometh” or “I have fish for sale”.

Now you can always tell whether it is the breadman or the fishman by the time of day. They both have the horn on their cycles so without the time of day you would never know which one is coming as both are horny when they are in the neighbourhood.  Safe to say that bread is delivered from 0515 – 0730 latest or in the late afternoon/early evening from1700 – 1830. The fish man only comes later in the morning and then ONLY when he has fish for sale – so this is not as regular as the breadman.

Horniness is a feature of every day in Goa and there is not a day  – or even a stretch of road where you can travel without being assaulted by the horn. We all learn to live with it though and eventually become deaf to it too.

About travell1ngthroughl1fe

I am a fun-loving person who goes with the flow and travels through life most of the time though sometimes I have to be responsible when others try to get me on their track! Most of the time though people tell me I am barking mad! hahahaha! Life is short but oh so sweet so I believe in looking out for the bright side of life and I can always find a positive in everything! Half-empty glasses are not for me. Negativity is an ill I want to cure in everyone. Only after you heal your own soul can you help to really heal the world. So when you need help, ask for it and where it is offered, gratefully accept it as a gift.
Aside | This entry was posted in 2013, Comments, Goa, Health, How to, India, Life, Philosophy, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really would appreciate comments so please do say something even if you read it and think it's a load of tosh!

