Back again and Goan for it

Interesting coming back to Goa after only 2 weeks away – the first thing I got when I came out the door at Mumbai airport was the warmth of the air – around 28 degrees when we landed. The next was when I arrived in Goa and saw the truly lush thick, dense, jungle-like greenery along the route home. And once I was installed, unpacked and ready to pick up my scooter the next thing I recalled was the cheapness of cooking (as well as eating out of course).

I was hungry so simply popped to the corner shop and got fresh mince (1kg) as well as 12 eggs (fresh again) for Rs.146/- and then to the veg stall where I got 2 onions, a garlic bulb and 2 plum style tomatoes for Rs.20/-. A total spend of less than £2.oo and made a meal for four – although I will simply eat some more tomorrow and freeze some for next week. I already had the kidney beans and the tinned toms so they went in along with green chilli sauce and red chilli powder (as well as a touch of my special ingredient) Yummy and did the trick too.

Considering the comparative fortune I spent on eating for the last two weeks ( and that is also with my friend and sisters supplying me with the odd meals) I really can’t complain about eating here even though I can’t get the yummy cheeses I like or the streaky bacon. Having said that some of those made their way into my bag (I packed it myself of course!) and is now stashed in the fridge and the freezer – gotta make it last a couple of weeks really I suppose.

And the drive around town getting the bits was the usual interesting one of avoiding cows, pigs, goats and chickens. This does make me wonder if trafficking in India is to a large part as a result of the sharing of the roads with 2 and four-legged friend – maybe I will explore that idea further another day.

Today was the first working one again and it was lovely to see everyone welcoming me back. It must have been the boxes of chocolates I doled out that did that – haha – joking!

It was interesting to hear that my intuition was again spot on in one area – I may have a slight change of role on the call centre side as apparently the managers are finally going to take the lead in recruiting and training their staff. With this in mind there are a few changes that have not yet been confirmed but it affects me.

It will only mean reducing the amount of training I will do as they won’t need me to induct on the soft skill side and will want me to only cover the Company product & credibility training as well as the resort tours for the staff – due to my extensive knowledge in these areas it seems = Well that is how Rajat put it – I have yet to talk to the M & S Director for confirmation of hours and monetary awards – which I will do in the next few days of course!

Bought myself a 1.5kilo chicken to roast tonight (at a cost of Rs.186/- or $2 at today’s rate) and then got home to find we are on the inverter as the power was off (back to normality) – so the oven not operational for the first half hour. Fortunately my landlady installed an inverter which means I have a light and fan operational in each room as well as a power point in the lounge. It means the fridge is off during these power cuts BUT I have TV and laptop so can do things. When the power is off for too long I do usually get an extension lead for the fridge. After all I can’t have the bacon and cheese defrosting – shock horror!!!!

Looking forward to an evening out at the’ Art Escape Saturday night live’ music gig that is at Baywatch Tawa = you can guess when that is.

Also looking forward to the first karaoke night with fellow karaoke divas who will be back in Goa next week. So first night with them will presumably be Tuesday 22nd October – so I will be exercising my vocals (I hesitate to say singing skills as karaoke does not really require this!) this Tuesday to get in the mood for their return.

You only get one shot at THIS life so gotta Goa for it haven’t you?

About travell1ngthroughl1fe

I am a fun-loving person who goes with the flow and travels through life most of the time though sometimes I have to be responsible when others try to get me on their track! Most of the time though people tell me I am barking mad! hahahaha! Life is short but oh so sweet so I believe in looking out for the bright side of life and I can always find a positive in everything! Half-empty glasses are not for me. Negativity is an ill I want to cure in everyone. Only after you heal your own soul can you help to really heal the world. So when you need help, ask for it and where it is offered, gratefully accept it as a gift.
Aside | This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

I really would appreciate comments so please do say something even if you read it and think it's a load of tosh!

