Settling Matters

Settle is a word with many connotations and I decided to explore them because it is interesting to note that although we often “settle” matters, we may not always be “settled” in ourselves.

Now if you take the word settle, not only is it a verb (doing word) but is also in fact a noun (identifying word) as it is A long wooden bench with a high back, often including storage space beneath the seat.” So it’s a bit like a blanket box with a back, or a settee with storage. settleHowever, the word settle is rarely used as a noun and therefore I am going to explore the verbs and adjectives (describing words).

Settled is a word I can relate to when I am working as I am often discussing issues with clients and “settling” their concerns and fixing matters. I try To put into order; arrange or fix definitely as desired.” and sometimes this settling is To accept in spite of incomplete satisfaction” but mainly I try to “reach a decision; determine” an outcome that is good for all concerned.

In the old Wild West the “settlers” came to claim new land,To establish residence in; colonize and set up homes there for their families and build a new (supposedly better) life for them.west settlers

How settled were they though? Does having a place of your own allow you to truly create peace of mind? Does it settle you? I suppose it depends on the person concerned.  Certainly, I don’t find this even though in the past I have bought or established a home for myself in a few places.

In fact settled is really not a word I would use when relating to myself as I am basically nomadic and therefore settling is almost anathema to me.

To begin living a stable and orderly life” and To establish on a permanent basis; stabilize” sounds rather scary and restrictive to me as it conveys a sense of routine which I can find causes boredom and from which I get no stimulation. Does it make me an unsettled person that I don’t want To discontinue moving and come to rest in one place” . I don’t think so although many a person has (jokingly i think!) called me unsettled and many also find me unsettling. However, it really is only the nomad’s way after all.

Personally, I am forever striving and challenging myself to learn more skills, see more of life, absorb more atmospheres (probably why I want to go into space – hahahe!), explore more places, meet more people and gain more knowledge of a variety of subjects. Thus, “settling down”  is to me a form of subjugation, as settled can mean not changeable” and the lack of opportunity for change which can  “subdue or make orderly” my life is really not something to which I aspire. It is strange and also wonderful how we can all perceive life in such a myriad of ways.

As an adjective of course settled means “balanced, established, permanent, sustained, enduring, long-standing, contented, satisfied, comfortable, fulfilled and at ease” However, the words “established” “permanent” “enduring” and “comfortable” can be double-edged swords (the pen IS mightier after all!) in a nomads life so they are also contradictory of the other adjectives.

My nomadic internal motor means that I am rarely able to settle on any one place and often cannot even settle on the next direction to take. There are days when I set off on my scooter with one intention and end up in a totally different place and mindset – which suits me fine.

In this modern age of labelling everything, no doubt there is a medical term for this “condition” I have. My dad used to say, when I couldn’t settle down, that I had “St Vitus Dance” – which apparently is a “jerking”disease. He would mainly say this though whenever I was dancing to Top of the Pops so…………………..go figure!St Vitus dance

It is certainly a good thing he is not alive on the earth anymore to discover “twerking” as I am sure it would send him to his grave! LOL

If you are interested in pursuing a discussion on any of the subjects here raised please sign up to follow me and get in touch – otherwise I will consider this particular blog post settled!

 NB: All emboldened type with thanks and as extracted from www.thefreedictionary.com

About travell1ngthroughl1fe

I am a fun-loving person who goes with the flow and travels through life most of the time though sometimes I have to be responsible when others try to get me on their track! Most of the time though people tell me I am barking mad! hahahaha! Life is short but oh so sweet so I believe in looking out for the bright side of life and I can always find a positive in everything! Half-empty glasses are not for me. Negativity is an ill I want to cure in everyone. Only after you heal your own soul can you help to really heal the world. So when you need help, ask for it and where it is offered, gratefully accept it as a gift.
This entry was posted in Comments, Goa, Health, Holistic, India, Life, Loopy Lines, Philosophy, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really would appreciate comments so please do say something even if you read it and think it's a load of tosh!

