Callcentres – are they trying or are they really trying? ………………..

I do have very mixed feelings and this is partly to do with the fact that I have worked in or run so many of them myself and partly to do with the fact that I have also have to deal with so many – most of which frustrate the hell out of me!.

Todays case in point was dealing with my Indian Bank account – I know now that it is not only in the UK that Indian Callcentres cause problems! 

So OK , here it is……….I know I am English and living here I should speak more than basic Hindi (if not Konkani) but this encounter was not a language barrier experience. No this seemed to be more of an “I am a call centre agent who is used to doing things in a robotic manner” experience. Even the charming Indian customer service assistant in the branch was finding him tough to deal with. I am just pleased that I went into the bank to sort out the problem – a simple one too!

Basically the bank emailed me to say that the internet password for accessing my account online was returned to them for some address problem so please would I call customer service for advice/resolution.

Unfortunately, they gave me no number to call for customer service and the email Id was one they tell you not to reply to ( that always makes me laugh!!!) so  I went into my branch and spoke to the charming girl there who had applied for my codes in the first instance.

I explained to her the problem and she proceeded to call customer service for me. When she got so far through the “number button- pushing” she passed the call to me  to proceed further. I then explained the reason for the call and after some verification was then told they were referring me to some other section.

Passed call back to her and she verified the reason we had called this number originally but then passed call back to me and they did connect me to another person who I had to explain the whole thing to again! Then I had to go through verification again which I did -with her help as I couldn’t remember some of this  (1st = Mothers madden name – oops should be Maiden but now a Freudian slip perhaps – but YES I knew that! Then 2nd,  – nominated person Oh no, I forgot which sister that was! Finally – then he started discussing my address pin code when he just was verifying my postcode! – got that sorted anyway!)

Then I got confused (well I am knocking on a bit! LOL) and was not sure if he was saying he would send me a new pin code when all I want is a new internet banking password – whichever would take 7 -11 days.

So I handed the call back to my lovely lady and she also had to clarify this fact and then asked if the password could go to the bank for me to collect. I was happy to have this but NO….. customer service said this was not possible.

So the 5 minute quick pop-in visit to the bank ended up taking 40 minutes and I am still not convinced the call centre got it right.

It will be interesting to see what I get in mail in 7 – 11 working days. I always have to sign for these things and last time I was out so it was taken back to post office. Therefore I may have to visit the posts office again to collect a pin/password – whatever I end up with. If you are interested watch this space.

Most of the time I would say that this is all part of living in India but I had the same results when trying to deal with Banking call centres in  the UK  so I am going to replace “Well, …….l this is India” with the “Well., ………. this is Banking after all!” from now on.

Are the people employed in banking call centres all robotic morons or …………………..?

I have trained many staff to work in call centres (not banks though), Once all these manually but now automated places were called telephone sales/marketing/customer service departments but all are now classed as call centres.

Early in life (20’s) I learnt that no-one intelligent will be happy to repeatedly say the same thing over and over to their clients without a form of interaction, some variety, etc. In sales and marketing no-one likes prospecting calls but they are the yeast in the dough that rises to create a fantastic loaf and really earns the “bread”. In customer service no one wants to handle complainants but this can be the spice in the masala mix that makes for a fantastic curry.

Most people continue to work in call centres long-term for financial reasons but that is mostly as a means to another end. There has to be more than purely financial reward. 

In the UK I know so many call centre workers are unemployed thespians between jobs so at least they have some get up and go. Most of the call centres I have dealt with on the banking side however have staff employed who have already “Got up and gone!”

So are they trying?…………or?

 

About travell1ngthroughl1fe

I am a fun-loving person who goes with the flow and travels through life most of the time though sometimes I have to be responsible when others try to get me on their track! Most of the time though people tell me I am barking mad! hahahaha! Life is short but oh so sweet so I believe in looking out for the bright side of life and I can always find a positive in everything! Half-empty glasses are not for me. Negativity is an ill I want to cure in everyone. Only after you heal your own soul can you help to really heal the world. So when you need help, ask for it and where it is offered, gratefully accept it as a gift.
This entry was posted in 2013, Comments, Goa, How to, India, Life, Philosophy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really would appreciate comments so please do say something even if you read it and think it's a load of tosh!

