Kill or Cure – Indians and their dogs!

So I was presented early on Sunday with a dilemma by my landlady and oh boy was it a toughie!

I was up very early (6am), meditating, contemplating and doing a bit of chanting to put me into the zone for performing Reiki later that morning.

I cleansed the room I was going to be working in, set a playlist for the music I would use, used the symbols to set the right vibrations and energy and then my landlady came and asked me to help her kill her dog!!!

Now, as a Reiki Master with a client coming at 11am at this stage I am in healing mode – not in a killing mode! In fact, I can never see myself in a killing mode of any kind.

I’d rather send out Reiki healing & thoughts and had been doing this now for 2 days.  However, I could understand her request in a way. You see, this poor old dog, blind in one eye, grubby, skinny and with an irritating cough at the best of times is now basically rotting away around his neck! He has a huge wound that is NOT healing. Instead, through his constant scratching with the back leg it is getting bigger and far worse!!

For two days now I had seen that maggots were cleaning the wound. He has taken to sitting on the landing below me OR on my balcony (for which reason I had placed plastic and mats as he feels the cold and I felt it may help him to recover). I have been changing the mats and washing the floor with Dettol 2 or 3 times a day as he bleeds all over the place and the smell pervades everything – hence a few bottles of Dettol on hand at all times.

I was only myself thinking I would ask my landlady (Connie is her name)  if I could get the vet when she actually appeared at 7.30am asking me to help her to get rid of him BECAUSE of the smell and that everyone is complaining and he can’t get better, etc.

So my reaction was……….of course I will get numbers for you, I will help you how I can, but………..it is not really in my nature to kill,( I am a healer!) and at this time of the morning I cannot possibly start to think about putting animals out to pasture or asleep for the long term so please bear with me……!

I had already changed Tommy’s (the dogs name) mat and washed the floor that morning once and I did do this again 2 more times that morning (once before my Reiki client and once more after she left).

Having got three phone numbers I gave them to Connie and her son to call. She told me later that she had called them apparently and was told that the vet (Erica) did not so this!

Now I think she had simply asked the Vet to come and take the dog or put him down as opposed to checking him over and putting him out of his misery, etc. No decent vet in their right mind would not help a poor animal. But this vet apparently suggested a bath only, so I do feel there was a breakdown of communication.

Everyone else was asking her to get rid of the dog and her son suggested to me that we poison him!!!!!  All this was totally stressing Connie out and she hadn’t slept well for worry. I spoke to the neighbours and suggested they think on how they would be if it was a child.

The pregnant girl (cousin somewhat removed!) who lives with the family(cousins) who are scrounging a space at Connies little house (for 6 months more than they agreed to be there and with 4 of them there instead of the 2 agreed!) complained about the smell (of blood) and I was not pleasant to her I can tell you, suggesting that when her baby is born there will be blood so how will she cope then ( or words to that effect!)?

Anyway, the day passed, the dog went off and never appeared again that day or evening and I thought – OK tomorrow morning I will call the vet myself. However the dog was not there this morning and hadn’t been  ( could tell by the lack of a smell sadly!) all night.

It was only at 7am that I saw him trotting (yes, trotting healthily like a young dog!) in through the gate. And then Connie came to me at 8am, saying that the animal doctor she uses was coming at 0930.

Hooray I thought. However, to ensure the dog would be there we boarded up my stairs so he couldn’t get down beforehand. He was at this point sleeping (0830) on the landing and had allowed me to put dettol-soaked bandages (sarongs torn up) round him and this seemed to have eased his irritation enough to let him sleep.

However, at 0910 he proceeded to get up and get out clambering over the makeshift barrier to go and pee in the garden and then sit there – OK – at least he is there still so no worries. However, I then gave him a little food to encourage him back upstairs but he promptly escaped again immediately after. So what to do?

He again sat in the garden so that was OK. Connie suggested I tie him up but his neck was impossible and would be too painful. I couldn’t bring myself to tie him round the middle as he had a hole started there too and a leg would just get broken I thought By now I also noticed a number of ticks had adhered to him (sucking his blood no doubt). These I promptly painted with nail varnish so that they would suffocate and be easy to extract later.

Anyway, I had though all would be well and then the local Indian animal doctor arrived at 9.40 (always Indian timing!) and Tommy had disappeared and was nowhere to be seen.

For a sick, crumbling-to-death rotting, animal he is surprisingly sprightly and agile and also has a strong heart and we are going to try again tomorrow morning (earlier I think though) if we can’t do anything tonight.

Still sending him out Reiki thoughts for a cure as I really do not feel he is ready to give up and pass on but am aware that it may be a case of having to simply ease his passing with some Reiki when it happens.

I am going off home soon from my few hours relaxing (and 2 blog day) on the beach to check what events are now occurring in my neighbourhood house.  I do need to call into the supermarket on the way to pick up some more supplies of Dettol, Washing powder and fabric softener.

It kills me to say it, but there sadly seems not to be a cure-all in this life for some things!

 

 

About travell1ngthroughl1fe

I am a fun-loving person who goes with the flow and travels through life most of the time though sometimes I have to be responsible when others try to get me on their track! Most of the time though people tell me I am barking mad! hahahaha! Life is short but oh so sweet so I believe in looking out for the bright side of life and I can always find a positive in everything! Half-empty glasses are not for me. Negativity is an ill I want to cure in everyone. Only after you heal your own soul can you help to really heal the world. So when you need help, ask for it and where it is offered, gratefully accept it as a gift.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really would appreciate comments so please do say something even if you read it and think it's a load of tosh!

