Facebook and the Millionaire Matchmaker

Ain’t Facebook wonderful folks? Or it can be I suppose.

 The reason I say this is for that it is obviously a great way of keeping in touch with friends from the distant past and also a great way to make new acquaintances as a result. I can’t call them friends even though Facebook does – friends to me are those people who you know well enough so that you are both able to accept each other as you are with all the craziness and pandemonium that is you! You actually appreciate (and sometime balance each other) for all the weaknesses as well as the strengths

 Anyway, I digress – As a result of my posting on Facebook that I fancied doing a “Patti” and being the Millionaire Matchmaker – with a twist I was messaged from a person I have not even spoken to, never mind met, since 1987!!!!  She was a great lovely lady and a bundle of fun when I worked with her in Spain for a short time but still not really had any dealings with each other in 26 years!

 So this lovely lady (as I remember her of course!) had spotted my post and promptly linked me and sent it to her son as she thought I was interested in matchmaking for myself. Now, I never say never – but I really am not looking for the partner to appear – all these things show in their own good time when the path you are on leads you that way is my belief. Anyway, she felt that he might suit me and he was possibly looking for a match too. So I thought – Ahh, now who is the matchmaker – this woman is not called Patti but I think she may have Jewish roots!

 Mother’s eh –It always amused me that we all love our own mother but the mother-in-law is repeatedly ostracised and condemned as being a really nosey, interfering and unhelpful witch and usually we don’t like our partner’s mother.

 Personally I have never had a problem with this though some of my relatives have encountered frostiness and non-acceptance from theirs. Mind you I have never had a mother-in-law in the true sense and most of my partners mums have been lovely but that may be due to the fact that I never went so far as to actually get married to their sons – which is apparently when they change character!!!

In actual fact my own mother was also an interfering busy-body  – in the nicest possible sense – who wanted what was best for me in life and thought she knew how to get it for me. She didn’t of course, as we were different people even though many traits were similar. We do all have to make our own way through in the end.

 Getting back to the Facebook thing – I went along with it and now he and I are occasionally messaging on Facebook. My last message to him asked the important 3 Patti questions to establish who may be suited to this man.

 1 Who is your celebrity crush?

2. What are you looking for in a partner?

3. What would you do on the first date?

Trite I know but it worked for Patti and in my networking capacity I may yet find a match for this guy as I have a number of single ladies who are real friends that may be open to suggestion anyway. He said he is looking for a good woman – and that is one thing I have NEVER been!!! ROFL 

So I have expanded my circle of acquaintances through interaction on Facebook and “Patti–Su, the new Millionaire Matchmaker- with a Twist” now has one more person on her list of potentials – Watch this space.

About travell1ngthroughl1fe

I am a fun-loving person who goes with the flow and travels through life most of the time though sometimes I have to be responsible when others try to get me on their track! Most of the time though people tell me I am barking mad! hahahaha! Life is short but oh so sweet so I believe in looking out for the bright side of life and I can always find a positive in everything! Half-empty glasses are not for me. Negativity is an ill I want to cure in everyone. Only after you heal your own soul can you help to really heal the world. So when you need help, ask for it and where it is offered, gratefully accept it as a gift.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really would appreciate comments so please do say something even if you read it and think it's a load of tosh!

