What is this thing called customer service?

Does it really exist? It surely is not about customer satisfaction according to my recent observations.

Now I can’t say for sure if this is a viral situation but I sure as hell do not experience the sort of customer experience that is SO EASILY given with a simple smile, question or thank you!

It actually strikes me that customer service today is all about making money from servicing your customers but not really satisfying them. So in the long run it is self-defeating and an uphill struggle when a few simple changes to the way we do things can create an entirely different perspective.

Having recently been employed to teach a number of telephone employees in the “Hospitality & Holiday” industry how to deal with their membership I was amazed to see how naïve they were in understanding the basics of how to answer a telephone and address a client correctly.

They were mostly defensive before they began a call deciding the sales department had lied to them and that the customer would not be forthcoming and happy!

They also did not seem to be aware of the product enough either to be able to advise their customers on how to make the best of their services. Yet this surely is an essential ingredient in customer service – satisfying the client will bring more rewards and less stress 99% of the time after all!

I cannot blame these trainees because from the initial basic listening skills session I was able to glean that these Customer Service “professionals” were not only assuming a lot BUT they were also so under informed that they were assuming that a whole department of the company was possibly dishonest! Not a great way to promote credibility or loyalty in staff and certainly needing to be attended to immediately.

These guys were crying out for help and guidance on how to do their jobs to the best of their ability and the major factor that struck me with horror was the basic lack of Company history or knowledge they had.

Had no-one given them a full induction into the history of the Company, its growth and each person’s importance within the engine that drove it onwards? Surely it was the role of their manager at least to induct them in these basics?

I honestly did not feel that any of them really took great pride in the Company for whom they were working. In fact I know that a number were there purely for the salary. In fact, probably most of them were!

Although I know that many of them do take pride in their own work, they were actually being restricted from doing well through lack of the correct BASIC information. These are the type of people you do not want to lose but who will be head-hunted easily and who will often look elsewhere for an “easier” opportunity.

All this in the Customer Service Division of an organisation in the hospitality industry!

Appreciating that the Company is a vertically integrated one and all about keeping the sales coming in to enable all to get paid and the business to keep it growing, I nevertheless wonder why it is that the head honchos seem to have a mental block about developing and training at least the managers? To train the individual staff to offer better service to clients always results in referral business and further sales. No wonder they struggle and I felt like I was hitting my head off a wall but only making a tiny dent.

They need a full time trainer in this Group but one who is knowledgeable about the industry as well as people-focused.

My small efforts may not go a long way but I do trust that some of the skills I was able to impart were taken up and will work for some of the individuals benefit.

About travell1ngthroughl1fe

I am a fun-loving person who goes with the flow and travels through life most of the time though sometimes I have to be responsible when others try to get me on their track! Most of the time though people tell me I am barking mad! hahahaha! Life is short but oh so sweet so I believe in looking out for the bright side of life and I can always find a positive in everything! Half-empty glasses are not for me. Negativity is an ill I want to cure in everyone. Only after you heal your own soul can you help to really heal the world. So when you need help, ask for it and where it is offered, gratefully accept it as a gift.
This entry was posted in How to, Life, Philosophy, Training, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really would appreciate comments so please do say something even if you read it and think it's a load of tosh!

