Time to restart and reboot my life perhaps?

So by 30th April I am in the second week of a really bad influenza style illness and it is hacking me off.

Viral things

I must admit, for a while I was actually rather scared, thinking I had dengue fever or a sever bout of malaria and maybe I would not recover. I can’t still know when it will finish as it is really dragging on and although I am now with an appetite again, I still have the dregs of a cough and head pains

I got a cough when I was in Bali on the last day of training and put it down to the fact that I had been in and out of this horrible climate and air conditioned offices and rooms for 2 weeks now so to be expected that I would develop a cold. Having said that I also had a real sensitive PAIN in my teeth by the bridges for 2 days before and so possible it was something I was eating (over-indulging on: bread, wheat, yoghurt?) That got me there.

They say that everything in life is for a reason and there is a reason for everything so analysis of why this fever struck is needed later but for the moment I am concentrating purely on full recovery.

As I was flying from Bali back to Goa next day I had thought I would simply sleep the “cold” developing off on the travelling and then when I got back I would recover with the normal jetlag before heading back to the office.

WRONG!

I did sleep all of the Saturday after I got back and most of the Sunday I felt rough so did nothing but rest. I drank lots of water and little else really.  I had lost my appetite and I had eaten so much bread in Bali I felt that I probably was bloated up anyway! My diet had gone from rarely bread and wheat to everyday loads of bread due to it being delicious and there for breakfast! I should have been wary perhaps then.

On Monday, still feeling below par, I felt another day relaxing and sleeping would possibly help and my neighbour kindly bought me some boxes of tissues and water. Not fixed but on the way to recovery I felt. So Tuesday I also took off – just to be sure- I felt somewhat relieved so decided to go in to the office again on the Wednesday. In the interim I had taken some Gelsimium from my emergency pack of Homeopathic meds as this was for flu-like symptoms (My sister had suggested)

BACK TOO SOON!

Felt sluggish at first when I got to the office and although initially I just felt it was lack of energy due to a bad cold clearing, after about 4 hours I was freezing and feeling like collapse. So I headed home via the massage spa as I felt that a good massage would relieve any pressures and thus knock it out of me! This resulted in me going straight home and sleeping for 14 straight hours. Great, I thought this should help and I should be fine by the end of week so that I can get back to some serious work.

BUT THE UNIVERSE HAS OTHER PLANS

Next day I woke with a banging head, a nose needing forever-blowing and a cough. So now I decided to go to the doctor. However as I hate all chemical medicines and I didn’t want an injection or simply antibiotics to remove a problem but possibly cause another one I went to the Ayurveda clinic. The doctor there was a very peasant man and he prescribed a tonic/system clearer that he had made up for me and a cough mix. The tonic to be taken before my 2 or 3 meals a day – I was hardly eating at this time as no appetite so this was going to be a case of force feeding myself perhaps.

So I started on the regime of morning tea/water and then this cocktail followed by some oats (Doctor told me to eat easily digestible foods and small amounts of oats or wheat/rice). Mustn’t drink milk, (nor eat cheeses I assume), nor eggs, nor grapes or bananas (which were all the things I had picked up as easy foods to eat) so I had bought Oats although usually I rarely touch them. Had that each morning and sat on the balcony or under a fan for a few hours in the coolest parts. Watched TV or read book when needed to do something but head then throbbed so sleep needed again. This was a case of a few days of sleeping, moving, sleeping, moving, drinking water (lots) and eating little soup etc.

Went again to the Doctor after 4 days as the sinus head was now getting really bad and after seeing him and getting repeat of the cough mix I then had a sinus treatment which enabled me to breathe deeper and cough up lots of deep phlegm (although I didn’t seem to have much) but it also really cleared the sinus.

My appetite started to return so that was good – not eating loads but was eating more than simply the soup or tea now.

By 2nd May I felt I was on the home leg. went for a 2nd sinus treatment which GAVE me a banging head but I think part of that was the fact that I had to shut down my computer and take it to be repaired – which was a TOTAL recovery and restart of the system!  So that stressed me out as now I was not going to be able to carry out my web searching without a computer!

So today (4/5/14) I am feeling a lot brighter, although still suffering with a slight headache and cough but I am ready to try the office again tomorrow. Once I get there it will be a case of play it by ear and if my energy drains too fast I will be sensible and return home to rest again. I managed to get to a  lunch for a couple of hours to see friends and felt less drained after although after that and coffee with another friend/neighbour across the way I then simply relaxed at home again doing very little.

Recovery is slow but it IS recovery. Viruses can cause a mere blip in the pathway of life, they can cause major damage when not attended to quickly & correctly,  or they can be the catalyst for a major overhaul.

Me? As ever, I am going to continue to look on the bright side of life. as well as to consider and follow where that road leads me.

About travell1ngthroughl1fe

I am a fun-loving person who goes with the flow and travels through life most of the time though sometimes I have to be responsible when others try to get me on their track! Most of the time though people tell me I am barking mad! hahahaha! Life is short but oh so sweet so I believe in looking out for the bright side of life and I can always find a positive in everything! Half-empty glasses are not for me. Negativity is an ill I want to cure in everyone. Only after you heal your own soul can you help to really heal the world. So when you need help, ask for it and where it is offered, gratefully accept it as a gift.
This entry was posted in 2014, Health, Holistic, India, Life, Philosophy, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really would appreciate comments so please do say something even if you read it and think it's a load of tosh!

