Why spend money on labels when you can be given one?

So how many of us spend our money on labels just to be trendy? 

Labels fall under many categories, whether they are in the clothing, furnishings or transport range?  

The world today seems to want to find labels for everything to tell us who we are, what we have and where we are placed in this world of consumerism. Labels after all are considered trendy and, seemingly, the main thing in this 21st century life to aim for. Most of this I feel sure is down to clever marketing.

How can you get a trendy label without having to spend money on it?

There are many other labels we can apply to you to keep you trendy. Instead of consumables we can find some sickness or abnormality to label you with instead.  Then we can invest our time and spend our money on developing and learning different ways to cure whatever label you have been given. You may be labelled as suffering from ADHD, Asperger’s, Alzheimers – and that is only the first letter of the alphabet.

It seems only to be in recent years that we seem to have really started to label everything we do or are affected by, as disorders of one kind or another. Is this as a result of scientists, mystics or government officials perhaps?

And the word disorder is like the word disease. They are both indicative of negative things bringing negative attitudes. I really can’t understand the reasoning behind it all.

I also have a labelled disorder, although the doctor has not officially confirmed this to me. I have taken it on myself to self-diagnose in this respect. Thus I am unlikely to be able to get any compensation or other financial benefits for it! My disorder is known as S.A.D (Sunlight Affected Disorder in the long form) and I believe I must have known from a very early age that I am a SAD person.

Don’t get me wrong, I am actually a person with a very happy nature and I usually look on the bright side of everything. However I am SAD as a “Sunlight Affected Disorder” person can be. The real label or term used by diagnostic persons is “Seasonal Affective Disorder” but as seasons vary throughout the world I find the sunlight label is more right for me.

Possible trends of the “SAD”ness label

I think I have known from an early age that I had this “dis-ease”. Long before the label I knew that the sun made me smile and want to dance and sing and play, where the lack of sunlight made me morose, placid and downright mean in many ways.

In the winter time, in climates where the sun hides most of the day, I would throw a strop, become bored and restless and not be able to sit still for any time unless I had something to occupy my mind and brain cells.

When it becomes dark for too long, I really get lethargic and can do little more than veg out or sleep. I used to say that I was a bear in a earlier life as I wanted to hibernate in the winter and not come out until the sun shone and the air was warmer. Maybe I WAS a bear in a former life but it wasn’t the trendy Polar Bear for sure because they are surely never warm, are they?

So I got to wondering if SAD is purely to do with the light of the sun or is also about the measure of heat involved. You see, I love it when it is sunny but if it is cold I still need to hibernate. Rarely will you find me out in the cold without many layers (and I mean LOADS) of protection. I actually hate wearing layers of clothing and feeling “bundled up” so I do tend to stay indoors in the warmer areas with less clothing needed. 

Apart from the light causing my “SAD”ness I truly believe it must also be to do with the heat/temperature of the air also. Maybe it is the contrasts between the heat and the cold, the light and the dull that really affects the moods. Due to the fact that I seem constantly to be looking for the warmth of the sun shining down on me, this has had a major effect on my choice of where I live and what times of year also. 

My SAD lifestyle & the trend today

Currently I find the trend,  with people who can afford the time or finances to do so, is to spend winter months (October – March) in the warmer climes of India & South East Asia, venturing to Europe and other temperate lands only during the late spring and throughout the summer months. It does after all seem that people are really happier in the warmer & sunnier climes.  They certainly do not seem to be stressed or pressured in the same way they are when living in darker, colder and damper climates. Thus, in recent years I have chosen to live and work according to the health benefits I receive from this “chasing the sun” way of life. 

A healthy mind. attitude and body are to me the most important parts of my life. Healthy beats trendy any day as far as I am concerned. Without health we are poor so I do wonder why there is still so much eagerness today for people to find a disorder and to label themselves with something. 

I can only presume it is all to do with the world now needing their trends and labels to make themselves feel good. But that is only my opinion and thank you for reading this.

If you have any other ideas or suggestions I’d love to hear from you. Then perhaps I can get my IT-talented niece to design a Mobile Phone Application for “labelled” people. These applications are now trending after all.

About travell1ngthroughl1fe

I am a fun-loving person who goes with the flow and travels through life most of the time though sometimes I have to be responsible when others try to get me on their track! Most of the time though people tell me I am barking mad! hahahaha! Life is short but oh so sweet so I believe in looking out for the bright side of life and I can always find a positive in everything! Half-empty glasses are not for me. Negativity is an ill I want to cure in everyone. Only after you heal your own soul can you help to really heal the world. So when you need help, ask for it and where it is offered, gratefully accept it as a gift.
This entry was posted in 2014, Health, Holistic, Life, New Age, Training, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really would appreciate comments so please do say something even if you read it and think it's a load of tosh!

