Healthy Living in Barcelona?

I am having so much fun and enjoyment simply from staying in Barcelona and I also am actually amazed at my language skills (basic thought they are in every language I speak – apart from English). On the bus from the airport I asked a woman something in Spanish and she answered me in French and then we had a chat!!! Why she spoke to me in French I have no idea but when she asked me where I was from and was it my first time in Barcelona, I answered, no it was my second time (in French) and I am English. So after that I think she thought I was intelligent perhaps?????????????? And all my basic polite Spanish is coming back to me and inviting smiles and offer s of photos to be taken. Whereas I got the impression from my friend that they hate the tourists and all foreigners (including Spaniards from other regions) here. Well that seems not the case so far for me anyway – unless I am just oblivious to the whole digging thing! I was disappointed not to make the Parc Guelle entry and see the Gaudi homes/buildings today but as it was Euros 8 and 3 hours wait I thought……..Nah! Gaudi Spire Gaudi Cathedral# There is enough Gaudi around the streets and tucked on many buildings if you want to look for it so I was happy to just peruse the gardens and take a few shots of views and then wander back to the Barceloneta area. There I found a great Tapas bar in a square (I sat inside the bar actually as the music was lovely). The grub was good and I spoke Espagnol   – and that is where the girl asked if I would like my picture taken – result.

Bodega SU

Bodega Me

Then, after a little drop back to the flat for a relax, I then wandered along to the marina/dock front area for a beer to watch the people wandering the passeig. Always such an interesting sight and I was not disappointed again. I really do like Spain and it feels very homely. This is always surprising to me considering I always said I would never come here on holiday (BEFORE I ever got to work here) because of the British lager lout and Fish & Chip brigade with their attitude to Spain.

However, it is a wonderful place so hopefully there are more people here that are not British football hooligans than there are. The tourist side must be such pain and I understand and also have a love/hate relationship with that myself as a person who works in tourism and sees how crass some people can be!

Hopefully however, the world is gradually becoming educated on how to respond to and also accept other nationalities, their culture and their differences.  After all, the UK has enough other nationalities to be able to fit in. Sadly though the majority of uneducated British people still seem to feel it their RIGHT is to have dominance of one sort or another!

So today all I really did was observe by walking around, watching the sights in the streets and taking a load of pictures.Planters  Looking really wierdTowelsLight and Shade Jazz

About travell1ngthroughl1fe

I am a fun-loving person who goes with the flow and travels through life most of the time though sometimes I have to be responsible when others try to get me on their track! Most of the time though people tell me I am barking mad! hahahaha! Life is short but oh so sweet so I believe in looking out for the bright side of life and I can always find a positive in everything! Half-empty glasses are not for me. Negativity is an ill I want to cure in everyone. Only after you heal your own soul can you help to really heal the world. So when you need help, ask for it and where it is offered, gratefully accept it as a gift.
This entry was posted in 2014, Comments, How to, Philosophy, Travel, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Healthy Living in Barcelona?

  1. Anonymous says:

    I had a great time there last summer Sue.I spent quite a lot of my time in the Poblenou area.The streets just east of the Rambla Poblenou turned up some great places to Eat after a day at the beach there.have fun,
    DM

I really would appreciate comments so please do say something even if you read it and think it's a load of tosh!

