Surreal Happenings in Alicante

#1

I had checked into my Airbnb at 5.30 pm and had been met at the top of the stairs to the second floor by a charming man (Joachim) who took me into the apartment and showed me around. The person I had booked with (his flatmate Pablo) was apparently sleeping at this point. So he showed me around, explaining everything he felt I needed to know, He was from Brazil and spoke no English but I could understand him and even though my Spanish is shit now (through lack of any practice really mainly) we managed and I was also able to discover there was another person (girl) staying there on Airbnb basis like myself though she was out at present.

Having installed myself in my room and unpacked, I then met Pablo who told me he would give me some more information when I needed it. As he was chatting to friends who had called round I thanked him and told him that I had decided to do a quick change and go out on a recce as I like to see where I am still during the light hours.

 No worries – So I headed off to explore.

Returning after a couple of hours, during which time I had a look at the beach, a quick scoot round the old town and some tapas in a local café very close to the apartment I then attempted to get back into the apartment.

I had 2 keys – one for main door and one for apartment.

At first I thought the key to the apartment would not work properly as the key to the main door was a bit sticky when I tried it.

But then as I was fiddling with the key I managed to click on the door and suddenly a little Chinese man opened it!

Aha, thought I, possibly the other roommate I did not yet meet (although I felt sure Joachim had told me it was a girl!). So I asked if Pablo or Joachim were there – Nope he said – no Joachim or Pablo here!

This causes me slight disorientation until he mentions that THIS is the first floor –perhaps I am staying in an apartment on the second floor? So then I realise my mistake and apologise. Please note, I have now walked up 2 flights of steps and therefore my brain obviously equated 2 flights of steps with the second floor. Remember this is only my second time here and I have been moving around a lot in the past few weeks.

OK, so I go up another 2 flights of stairs to what I assume is now the second floor. However, I then discover that I can’t get into the flat there either!

At this point a Spanish girl comes to the door of the flat I am trying to enter and I assume SHE is the other housemate I have yet to meet. But NO………..and as I glimpse inside the apartment I realise it has the wrong layout so it is not the right one either, although this IS the 2nd floor and I was certain I had come in through this door.

In broken Spanish I ask her if she knows Pablo or Joachim (the flats tenants) and she says no!

So bemused, I go downstairs, out of the front door check the building number and try the bell to my apartment – no response so I go inside and up to the 2nd floor again. Knocking on the girl’s door I ask her again to confirm this is the second floor. Yes she tells me it is and then points to a second door along the landing and suggests it may be that flat! Which it was and then I got in!!

So OK ………….I AM barking mad and sometimes can be not very attentive. Maybe I should have realised the second door on this landing was to another flat (the one I AM staying in!). However I had taken it to be a second door for a cupboard or even another entrance to the accommodation. The reason for that being that I had been told (before checking in) that the flat was the one on the 2nd floor, there was only 1 bell downstairs labelled 2nd floor flat – and no other labels beside it for another bell or any way to indicate (numbers on doors etc.) that told me there were 2 flats on each floor. The flat was a three bed and quite large so………………can I please be excused?

#2

I met with Pablo shortly after coming back. He spoke good English. is from Argentian himself and explained that they were both actor/entertainers (in the style of Cirque Soleil apparently) and gave me some useful local information. i then relayed my confusing return to the apartment to him.about talking to the girl in the next door flat.

He laughed and then told me about a friend of his who had come to visit him, gone to the First floor (counted 2 flights of stairs as second floor too perhaps?), knocked on the door there and had been greeted by a Chinese GIRL who welcomed him into this flat at 10am one morning.

When he asked where Pablo was the girl (who spoke no Spanish) had smiled, said hello Pablo and taken him for a punter as it turns out that a few years ago this was a brothel of sorts!

And when I knocked on that door I had been met by a young Chinese man – he may have been the pimp or a relation – who knows? At least I didn’t get taken for a punter! LOL

How SU REAL is all that eh? Bring it on Alicante!

About travell1ngthroughl1fe

I am a fun-loving person who goes with the flow and travels through life most of the time though sometimes I have to be responsible when others try to get me on their track! Most of the time though people tell me I am barking mad! hahahaha! Life is short but oh so sweet so I believe in looking out for the bright side of life and I can always find a positive in everything! Half-empty glasses are not for me. Negativity is an ill I want to cure in everyone. Only after you heal your own soul can you help to really heal the world. So when you need help, ask for it and where it is offered, gratefully accept it as a gift.
This entry was posted in 2014, customer service, How to, Life, sex in the city, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really would appreciate comments so please do say something even if you read it and think it's a load of tosh!

