Spanish transport systems

Having recently travelled around in Spain I must say I was TOTALLY impressed by the fact that every town I visited seemed to have a super-efficient form of public transport and offers you savings with a local card. This is similar to the Oyster card now introduced in the UK London area. However, although all these cards can save money as you travel the Spanish ones are very cheap compared to the London system. 

I particularly like the way that often in Spain if you take two or three trips within a short period of time they will count as one journey (and thus charge) 15-30 minute periods being operated in the Alicante, Barcelona and Valencia areas. And this applies to buses and trams in many towns as I am sure it applies in many places in Spain This is great if like me you are on a hop on/hop off type of exploration and you want to quickly see what is there without having to take the official hop-hop off tourist bus (which often works out dearer and is usually limited to a 24 or 48 hour period only).  

Oh and circular route buses? These were great as they mean you really have no way of getting lost and going so far out of your way because they all bring you back to where you started (eventually)

 In respect of the RENFE (Spanish railway system), my host in Tarragona advised me that in Spain if your train is delayed arriving by more than 15 minutes you get another free journey on that route! We could learn from that I think! I was actually delayed leaving Tarragona so thought that I may be lucky with that one but we made up time en route by not stopping at one station altogether and having a shorter stop at another!

 Never mind, maybe next time I am transported back to and around Spain.

About travell1ngthroughl1fe

I am a fun-loving person who goes with the flow and travels through life most of the time though sometimes I have to be responsible when others try to get me on their track! Most of the time though people tell me I am barking mad! hahahaha! Life is short but oh so sweet so I believe in looking out for the bright side of life and I can always find a positive in everything! Half-empty glasses are not for me. Negativity is an ill I want to cure in everyone. Only after you heal your own soul can you help to really heal the world. So when you need help, ask for it and where it is offered, gratefully accept it as a gift.
This entry was posted in 2014, Buses, Comments, customer service, How to, Trains, Transport, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really would appreciate comments so please do say something even if you read it and think it's a load of tosh!

