Changes Underway

Well it has been a while since I blogged and I apologise to those who follow me but I have been rather busy with a new venture/ opportunity that came my way shortly after I returned from Spain.

time for chnageAn old work colleague and friend of mine met to discuss a job offer he had for me for a 3+ month period. He needed things to change where he was in Nigeria.  I explained that I could not commit to 3 months at that time as I was due back to India to carry out things there. However, he felt that if I could come over for a few weeks to Nigeria, I may be able to assist him with some tweaks to change things for the better. So I changed my plans and committed to going off  to Abuja. In fact I ended up actually staying for four weeks.

During that time, I managed to impress the bosses/owners with my skills within a short period of time (10 days got is rolling upward) and changed a struggling team of staff into a much improved team resulting in better business for all concerned. Really it was a case of changing the way they were working and thinking. This meant a little education and a lot of training.

With no plan to stay in Nigeria further than 3 weeks initially I was disappointed to hear from Goa colleagues that they could only offer me double my working hours back with them for the SAME amount of money!!!

Strange lot – they actually thought I would accept this turn of affairs. Added to the fact that the extra hours were going to mean I HAD TO WORK 6 DAYS PER WEEK – So this was the turning point for me. No way Jose is how i felt.

nigeria_map_mNow there is very little to do in Abuja other than work and the price of everything there is on a par with London so there was no outside temptation to attract me.  Luckily I was staying in a hotel with a pool and the apartment had a kitchen so cooking and shopping for food was possible with some exercise of a daily swim. But really little else to do than play Scrabble with the boys read or watch TV! No dance classes, karaoke, fun places to visit.

Abuja is the Federal Capital Territory of the country and is thus mainly civil servants, so am I surprised really? In fact it has only existed for 40 years and was purposefully built there as that is the centre of the country and previously all things were run from Lagos which is on the coast and far from any parts of this vast country.

I will say that the roads are brilliant and I love the “Sanitation Day” they have on the last Saturday of every month to clean up the streets. Thus during the hours of 0700 – 1000 no-one is allowed on the roads while this sanitizing goes on.  sanitation day

Anyway, getting back to my options, at the 2 week juncture I had further discussions with the Nigeria based colleagues who I was now working alongside short-term in Abuja. Having met the directors and discussed their needs we settled on a compromise on what I could/would do with regards to changing the way they were operating over the coming months. It is all to do with the way things are done or what some call business process re-engineering

The result is that I have arranged to work with them  for the foreseeable future on the basis of 4 weeks on for 7 days (28 days on basically) and then have a week R & R.  Flights are covered by them and as I have already got previous commitments to people in Goa I will not return to Nigeria until mid-November.

So my plans have changed again and thus I return to Goa as soon as my travel visa comes through early next week (I put the application in on Monday when I landed in UK and should get it sometime next week). Then in November after a few weeks in Goa I will then again fly to Nigeria (via Kenya this time, for the purpose of getting a business visa) to resume where I left off and train up some staff for management and supervisory roles.day airsun air

I imagine this will be hectic times, as after only 4 weeks there I will then return to India for a further 4 weeks (Company is closed until mid-Jan from 15th December anyway) when I will again go back to Nigeria. After that it is unlikely I will return to Goa for some while as it is too far to go for purely I week after all.

Having already spent 4 weeks in Nigeria I can tell you I am totally  bushed  after the 28 days’ work load (which is another change for me after so long working shorter weeks) and thus I am in need of some R & R and  looking forward to returning to Goa around 10th/11th this month. My friends will be coming out within a few days of me arriving there so I am looking forward to seeing them all in Goa and having some fun times with them this season, however short it is.

Even woptional growthhile I am in Goa I will still be in daily contact with the staff in Nigeria and reporting on and overseeing the training and development of them to hopefully have an effect to also help them change their lives and future prospects.

As a strong believer in the Universal guidance I trust that this way forward takes me towards my next goal of relocating in the future to Spain/Europe and during my short stays in Goa this winter, I may start to move things out and dispose of unnecessary goods in preparation for the future.

However, I may later change my mind (as a woman I am told it is my right) at any time. I do know the universe will guide me and “Que sera,  sera” as Doris and my mum would have sung.

So change is on the way and I saw it in the cards some time ago without knowing when it was coming or how. Looking forward again even while living in the Now and that is how life should be. imagesembrace

Change can only be for good in my way of reasoning, so onwards and upwards and let’s see what the universe will offer me with this new adventure of mine.

About travell1ngthroughl1fe

I am a fun-loving person who goes with the flow and travels through life most of the time though sometimes I have to be responsible when others try to get me on their track! Most of the time though people tell me I am barking mad! hahahaha! Life is short but oh so sweet so I believe in looking out for the bright side of life and I can always find a positive in everything! Half-empty glasses are not for me. Negativity is an ill I want to cure in everyone. Only after you heal your own soul can you help to really heal the world. So when you need help, ask for it and where it is offered, gratefully accept it as a gift.
This entry was posted in Abuja, change, Goa, How to, Nigeria, relocation, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Changes Underway

  1. Gary Lane says:

    Good luck to you Sue, you’re certainly a free spirit. You’ll be missed by all in Goa 🙂

I really would appreciate comments so please do say something even if you read it and think it's a load of tosh!

