News from Nigeria

OK – so I have  been back in Nigeria a week and what a non-stop week it’s been!

Arrived on Thursday and managed to get MOST of my belongings into some kind of order in the previously bland looking bedroom.  There’s still a bit to do but it already looks & feels more homelyAbuja room panorama 1

Abuja Room Panorama 2

Travelling with your home in 2 suitcases can be very challenging and I keep recalling the odd thing that I no longer own but could do with. Major things are here though and still haven’t got a place as I need another storage cupboard (which is apparently being built while I am in Lagos – so looking forward to that!)

Home in 2 suitcases

However generally it is not sensible to travel with too much and collecting “stuff” has really not been my “thing” for years now. As it is my brain gets cluttered enough with all my ideas, notions, imagination and wild fantasies. without having physical things to also contend with. Maybe that is why I am still living alone predominantly – after all could I really  handle another person and their “Stuff”?

Anyway, I organised most of “my stuff” but still need to put up my sari curtains in the lounge and arrange things there. Also there is a change of settee required for the lounge (the one they replaced while I was gone in December is actually more comfortable than the replacement they brought – so they are now re-replacing it ( i just made up that word but think it makes sense!).

On the work front – all systems go! What with recruiting from 9 applicants and then starting to train 3 new potential TM STAFF, suspending another TM ( a best booker too!) for getting her client to lie when they came in, I then got up at 5am flew early morning (7am) Friday to Lagos where I went straight to the office and spent the whole day talking to TM staff for feedback to establish how best to plan for training next week!

Continued with this again on Saturday before having a little rest today (although am prepping the training for the next 3 days at the same time).

I will be here only until Thursday and then back to Abuja until after the first election and then back to Lagos again!

ELECTIONS IN NIGERIA

With regards to elections – February is the month that is going to be full of riots and fighting according to some! It sadly seems to be like this in many a country nowadays when elections take place!

I can never work out why anyone gets so riled up – after all whoever gets into power will only screw it up again anyway! Mind you here it is quite volatile due to the religious factions, Boko Harum, etc.

There are two election days in Nigeria this February – the main presidential election (14th Feb) and the state elections (28th Feb) and all people who have the vote either go to their home state to vote or they don’t bother!!!

Our work driver Austin, who is a committed Christian (as most of our staff seem to be)  has declared that he WILL be using his vote on 14th And 28th Feb 2015 as otherwise he cannot comment on the state of the country without using his vote! And he is right.

We can all comment if we wish but we cannot moan about the state of the nation (whichever nation we be in) unless we are prepared to do something about it after all. So always use a vote when you have one (or put up and shut up!).

So I was chatting to him whilst on the road to the supermarket last week and he enlightened me a little about the history of Nigeria the elections and Boko Harum.

It is a fact that the former Head of State Muhammadu Buhari who will be running again for the presidency (born 17 December 1942) is an Islamist and retired Major General in the Nigerian Army and ruled Nigeria from 31 December 1983 to 27 August 1985, after taking power in a military coup d’etat.BUHARI

He also ran unsuccessfully for the office of President in the 20032007 and 2011 elections. In December 2014, he emerged as the Presidential Candidate of the All Progressives Congress, for the 2015 elections. A native of Daura in Katsina State, Buhari is of the Fulani ethnic background, and his faith is Sunni Islam.

GoodluckNow he is the main contender to the current president Goodluck (yesthis is his name) Ebele Azikiwe Jonathan. Goodluck has been President of Nigeria since 2010 and is running now for a second (and final) term. He was also Vice-President of Nigeria from 2007 to 2010. Jonathan is a member of the ruling People’s Democratic Party (PDP).and a Christian.

My driver told me that Goodluck is likely to continue in the role though obviously this is not guaranteed so we must all vote when we can. So good luck to him eh?

Austin also told me that Buhari’s security force when he was Head of State were basically thugs and when he was removed from his post as head of state the thugs decided to continue to be thugs, run riot and wreak havoc and it was then th became what is now known as Boko Harum.  He sees these “gangsters” as wild fanatics who will do anything to have an Islamic state but they actually are not really abiding by the laws of Islam anyway.nigeria-boko-haram-graphic

Anyway, there are now rumours in newspapers and security warnings for people to be aware that the Boko Harum may step up their actions, shootings and bombings up to, during and after elections (depending on the outcome presumably). Apparently it happens every election so nothing new there!

Thus we are all aware that the election days WILL have problems and no non-Nigerians should venture out on these days. In fact the streets will be pretty empty they think and so it will be me by the pool or in the gym it seems on these 2 days off!

And I can tell you now I am already looking forward to those days off as these next few weeks will no doubt continue to be pretty hectic while I set the training in motion in an effort to up the production rate of all TM staff  through interactive training .

I am electing for 2 days off soon anyway – without having to resort to terrorism of course!

About travell1ngthroughl1fe

I am a fun-loving person who goes with the flow and travels through life most of the time though sometimes I have to be responsible when others try to get me on their track! Most of the time though people tell me I am barking mad! hahahaha! Life is short but oh so sweet so I believe in looking out for the bright side of life and I can always find a positive in everything! Half-empty glasses are not for me. Negativity is an ill I want to cure in everyone. Only after you heal your own soul can you help to really heal the world. So when you need help, ask for it and where it is offered, gratefully accept it as a gift.
This entry was posted in Abuja, africa, cavemen attitude, elections, Nigeria, terrorism, Training, travelling and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really would appreciate comments so please do say something even if you read it and think it's a load of tosh!

